Beefy Baked Ziti Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2012
Simply delicious! This is very easy to throw together and perfect for a hearty weeknight meal. So if your're in the mood for Italian but think you don't have the time - think again. I added 1/2 lb. of sausage to the ground beef and onion along with some fresh minced garlic. And, to the sauce I added a little red wine and some Italian seasoning to give a bit of a flavor boost. The sour cream was a nice change from the usual ricotta cheese and I just eyeballed the other cheeses when layering. I covered it and baked it a little longer than 30 minutes leaving it uncovered for the last 10 minutes. Great with garlic bread and a salad!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jillian

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Allentown, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2011
Loved it! Used Penne vs Ziti, and all Mozzarella since that's what I had on hand. Great recipe - quantity is fantastic as I fed myself, the DH (Darling Husband) and three teenagers two bowls each and still had half the dish left over! After reading the other reviews, I would be interested to try zucchini, pesto, ricotta, other spices, garlic etc., but I would make this again as is in a heartbeat. Thanks for a keeper and a new family favorite!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2011
This is a great recipe but I found a few adjustments made all the difference the second time I made it and it was healthier! :) substitute 1 lb whole wheat penne, 48 oz of sauce (52 is too much!), 8 oz Sargento sliced provolone, 1 pkg of shredded Italian Cheese Blend instead of the mozzarella. I also added minced garlic to the meat/onion mixture for extra flavor. This is a great dish paired with an all greens and oil/vin salad!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2011
If you want a better tasting, more cost efficiant recipe. Skip the sour cream & provolone. Use 15-16 ounces of Ricotta instead. Also, rather than buying the mozzarella and parmesan seperately...try using the pre-packaged shredded italian mixture. Usually it comes with mozzeralla/parmesan. Stick with a traditional spaghetti sauce instead of the Classico. That way your baked ziti isn't tainted too much by the bold flavors in the Classico sauces. These traditional sauces are usually a little less expensive than the Classico anyway. After boiling the pasta...drain then mix pasta, ricotta and 1 egg together. The egg works well as a binder and makes the ricotta much fluffier and tastes great. Start layering with the sauce mixture first, that way you don't have to grease the pan.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2011
The Classico sauce was really tangy and ruined this otherwise delicious dish. The sauce was more expensive than other brands, too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2011
Wonderful! I actually omitted meat altogether--extremely flavorful and easy to make! Company loved it. I really like the addition of sour cream instead of ricotta, added a rich flavor imo. Will definately save and make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Annandale, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2011
The whole family LOVED this but no one more than me!!! By far the best baked ziti I've ever had. I will probably never try another recipe. :) I pretty much followed the recipe except for the sauce. I just used traditional sauce (I think it was Aldi brand) and added basil and garlic from the garden. Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Krajcimama

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2011
Did the recipe just like it said was very good and not hard at all to make. My Children Love it! Think I am going to try the sausage next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Leesville, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Ontario, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2011
Very good. It feels like you are going to overflow the pan, but it won't.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2011
I've made this twice and it never goes to waste. very good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Denise
Home Town: Kissimmee, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 66) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Baked Ziti I

See how to make Colleen's five-star baked ziti.

Baked Ziti II

It's the simple solution to the weeknight dinner challenge.

Basic Baked Spaghetti

See how to make a simple weeknight favorite.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States