Beefy Baked Ravioli Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2007
Mmm, good stuff. I use Italian sausage instead of beef, a whole 25 oz bag of ravioli, and a bag of my own frozen tomatoes. I add chopped onion and green pepper while frying the meat and a 28 oz jar of sauce. Oh, and I double the cheese, 2 cups on each layer. Great with garlic toast and a glass of red wine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
175 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kaye Lynn

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Mallard, Iowa, USA
Living In: Emmetsburg, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2010
Good meal with some additions/changes. For all who aren't sure ... NO, you do not need to boil the ravioli first, but I let it thaw for a while before baking (about an hour), but you don't have to do this if you don't have time. Here's what else I changed. Add 1 diced onion and 1 tsp garlic to the beef. When adding the sauce add 1 small can sliced mushrooms. Use 26 oz jar spagetti sauce (I used Ragu No sugar added Basil Tomato) and WELL DRAINED diced tomatoes. This gave me plenty of sauce for the layering. Use the entire package of ravioli and a 9x13 dish. no need to grease/oil the dish. after the first layer of cheese I added small dollops of ricotta over entire pan. Also all cheese measurements need to be increased since using more ravioli and larger pan. Ended with sauce layer. Bake 30 min with foil on then decrease heat to 350, remove foil and bake an extra 15 minutes. After removing from oven and sprinkling with parmesan, allow the dish to cool for 5-10 minutes. This will make slicing/serving easier.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
155 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 25, 2006
Great throw-together meal. I used a whole bag of frozen ravioli, and added chopped mushrooms and garlic to my browning meat. I also added one and a half cans spaghetti sauce. Served with a salad, corn, and garlic bread, and you've got a wonderful meal!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
90 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Columbia, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Lahaina, Hawaii, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2006
This was a wonderful dish. My kids and their company loved it! I'll definately make it again! And for those of you who want everything from scratch, you CAN make your own ravioli, spaghetti sauce and can your own tomatoes....but for us regular folks, this makes for a wonderful, homecooked meal! Thank you for sharing this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
39 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2007
It seems there are some cooking snobs here. Not everyone has the time to spend the entire afternoon cooking dinner from scratch. Just because a recipe is "semi-homemade" doesn't mean it isn't good. This recipe made a quick and tasty week night meal. Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
35 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2009
EXCELLENT!! I USED 1/2 A 25OZ. BAG OF BEEF RAV. AND 1/2 CHEESE- 2 LARGE CANS OF SPAG SAUCE- 8OZ OF FRESH MUSHROOM- BROWNED 1# BEEF WITH GARLIC,ONION POWDER, SALT AND PEPPER WITH MUSHROOMS- LAYERED AS TOLD IN RECIPE- ADDED LAST LAYER OF CHEESE 15 MINS BEFORE REMOVING FROM OVEN- DID NOT COOK RAV. CAME OUT AWESOME- USED A 13X9 PAN- HUSBAND AND SON LOVED IT!!!! VERY EASY!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Wiser1

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Marietta, Georgia, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2007
My guys loved this!! I browned the meat with 1 diced onion and 2 pressed garlic cloves. I omitted the canned Spaghetti sauce and instead I used 1 (29 oz) can of Tom puree, 2 (14.5 oz) cans of petite diced tomatoes and 1 can of tom paste. I seasoned it as I would a spaghetti sauce with basil, oregano and a little sugar. I used a whole bag of cheese raviolis. My husband said it was better than lasagna! High praise indeed! We have a 14 year old and a 4 year old. They loved it too. Thank you for sharing such a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Angee C.
Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2007
Yep. This saved the day today. Used two bags of the mini ravioli, no extra tomato, and some ricotta with a little chopped garlic between the layers. The kids ate it right up and my husband had a second helping :) The ability to use frozen ravioli puts this one over the top in my opinion. I printed this one out. Thanks!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PALMTREEMOMOF3

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2011
So yummy and easy for a mostly pre-packaged meal- fast to put together on those nights when I need to get food on the table.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chicken

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dunedin, Otago, New Zealand
Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2011
Oh. My. Gosh. This was soooo GOOD!!! For all you food snobs out there, us "working class" folks don't have time to make everything from scratch. Shame on you for looking down at us or snubbing a good recipe due to it being "semi-homade" (geezsh)! Because my hubby & I work long hours, we rarely have time to make elaborate meals during the week. When planning this week's meals, I stumbled upon LUVINMYHUBBY's recipe & IMMEDIATELY knew I HAD to give it a try. In order to spend less time in the kitchen tonight, I browned my beef / onion (I added a small diced onion when browning my beef) on Sunday. I then mixed in my sauce / tomatoes (Hunt's balsamic, EVOO & basil flavored) & threw in my (covered) Tupperware Mix-N-Stor pitcher. Tonight, all I had to do was assemble everything & pop in the oven. NOTE: I started to layer 1/2 of my raviolis in my 8 x 8 in. baking dish & by the 2nd (final) layer, I had used the entire bag! That, subbing meat filled ravioli for the cheese variety (hubby's request), adding an onion (as mentioned previously) & not using any Parm (personal preference) were my only changes. There are TWO important things to note here. First, you DO NOT need to boil your ravioli (that would negate the simplicity of the entire dish). If the recipe submitter thought you should, she would have instructed to do so. Second, as is, this takes more like 40 min. to heat thru. Served w/ a bagged salad mix & garlic bread, this was a FANTASTIC and EASY meal! Thanks for sharing! :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chef Mickey (aka Mickey)

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: De Soto, Missouri, USA
Living In: Elgin, Illinois, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 469) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Baked Ziti I

See how to make Colleen's five-star baked ziti.

Baked Spaghetti

A hearty baked spaghetti casserole with three kinds of cheese.

Basic Baked Spaghetti

See how to make a simple weeknight favorite.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States