Beef with Vegetables Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2003
a keeper! good basic recipe that takes well to improvisation. The kids said it tasted like take-out. I used green pepper, yellow pepper, onion, mushrooms sliced, diagonal sliced carrots and celery. I left out the sugar since I don't like sweet sauces. I doubled the amount of ginger and garlic, (well, maybe I tripled it). I added a dash of dry sherry since I am allergic to oysters....and it turned out fantastic. Next time want to try broccoli instead of peppers. Maybe add bamboo shoots and water chestnuts too. Thank you for this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
127 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SURFWENCH

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 22, 2008
I don't think this recipe gets enough credit for what it is. It's basically like a beef and broccoli recipe. It has a really good flavor and is great with rice. I ALWAYS double the sauce paste because it thickens better. I would definitely use oyster sauce if you can find it because it adds another good dash of flavor to the sauce. I only use broccoli with this recipe because I don't really like fancy colorful veggies. It's also a good basic recipe and leaves lots of room for adding your own things. Doesn't take very long either so give it a try.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
74 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by naples34102
Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2011
We enjoyed this, but I improvised with the recipe, particularly in the technique. I used a sirloin steak that I sliced very thinly against the grain and on the diagonal when it was still in a semi-frozen state. Because it was so thinly sliced, it needed a very brief cooking time, just a minute or two on high heat. I removed it from the pan, then cooked the rest of the vegetables, little by little and being careful not to crowd the pan, on high heat and again, just a minute or so until they were crisp-tender. As I cooked each ingredient I dumped it in a “holding bowl.” When the meat and all the vegetables were cooked I returned it all back to the pan where I added the sauce ingredients, omitting the sugar and ginger, and enough broth to get it to the desired thickness. I like very little, if any, sauce with my stir fry, so the amount of it was just right for me – in fact, I didn’t even use all of the broth called for. Stir fry requires no simmering, so I returned it to the heat just long enough for the cornstarch mixture to thicken. Served over hot, cooked rice, this was so tasty, and just to our liking - without the sugar and ginger, and with nothing overcooked in order to retain each ingredient’s flavor and color. I’ll be “hitting the road” again, so this was an ideal and delicious way to make use of the baby bok choy, sweet onion, zucchini, mixed color bell peppers and mushrooms I had in the fridge.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
67 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2005
My husband and I really enjoyed this recipe...used snow peas, water chestnuts, red bell pepper, green bell pepper, onion, and fresh mushrooms..and served over whole grain rice. Will definitely make this recipe again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
34 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2003
WOW! I never have seconds but I ate seconds and all the leftovers of this! We didn't have any ginger and didn't use oyster sauce....we did use carrots, green onions (instead of regular onions), green beans, and green peppers for veggies. I made beef broth from the beef sachets and I did make too much (I had doubled the recipe but I don't think this needed doubled) but we served it on rice and the extra juice tasted excellent so I think I'd leave it doubled. We'll be eating this one frequently- all the kids loved it too! Excellent flavor and super easy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Soup Loving Nicole
Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2011
I took the advice of the recipe submitter and used our vegetables of choice. I used broccoli instead of the carrots, mushrooms, and I used 3 different variety of bell instead of just the green. I gave this a 4 instead of 5 because I think the sauce really does need doubled to flavor your veggies and coat your rice some. I will make this again and next time I will try it over noodles. Thanks for a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Soup Loving Nicole

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kansas City, Missouri, USA
Living In: West Fork, Arkansas, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2003
This recipe was very good. I took the advice putting in my own vegetables. Instead of the carrots, I used water chessnuts, young corn, and bean sprouts, and I also used yellow bellpepper as well. I also added sesame oil. Everyone in the family loved it. I'm glad I doubled the recipe. Will make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2006
Sorry, but I am surprised by the great reviews this recipe received. The sauce did not thicken at all for me. It stayed very thin and soupy. By the time I gave up and added more starch, the ingredients were all overcooked. If I use this recipe again, I'll definitely decrease the amount of beef broth that I use or increase the amount of starch from the start.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by awilson614
Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2011
The meat got way overcooked in the process, so it would have been better to add those at the very end. There needed to be a little bit more sauce too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by awilson614

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2012
Enjoyable dish. Made it again with chicken intead of beef using chicken broth. Can also add bamboo shoots, water chestnuts and bean sprouts.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 47) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Beef Stew with Roasted Winter Vegetables

This hearty stew is fresh and flavorful, and makes a great comfort-food meal.

How to Make Beef Wellington

Make the classic filet mignon and mushroom dish named after Duke Wellington.

How to Cook Corned Beef and Cabbage

Watch how to make this traditional St. Patrick’s Day dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States