Beef with Vegetables Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2011
I agree with Katherine. Flavor was a bit on the plain side for me, too much beef broth. If I make this recipe again, I will have to use less broth. the beef was overcooked and hardened by the time to finished the dish and the sauce never thickened. But it is a basic recipe and can be easily revised to desired liking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by naples34102
Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2011
We enjoyed this, but I improvised with the recipe, particularly in the technique. I used a sirloin steak that I sliced very thinly against the grain and on the diagonal when it was still in a semi-frozen state. Because it was so thinly sliced, it needed a very brief cooking time, just a minute or two on high heat. I removed it from the pan, then cooked the rest of the vegetables, little by little and being careful not to crowd the pan, on high heat and again, just a minute or so until they were crisp-tender. As I cooked each ingredient I dumped it in a “holding bowl.” When the meat and all the vegetables were cooked I returned it all back to the pan where I added the sauce ingredients, omitting the sugar and ginger, and enough broth to get it to the desired thickness. I like very little, if any, sauce with my stir fry, so the amount of it was just right for me – in fact, I didn’t even use all of the broth called for. Stir fry requires no simmering, so I returned it to the heat just long enough for the cornstarch mixture to thicken. Served over hot, cooked rice, this was so tasty, and just to our liking - without the sugar and ginger, and with nothing overcooked in order to retain each ingredient’s flavor and color. I’ll be “hitting the road” again, so this was an ideal and delicious way to make use of the baby bok choy, sweet onion, zucchini, mixed color bell peppers and mushrooms I had in the fridge.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
67 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Photo by awilson614
Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2011
The meat got way overcooked in the process, so it would have been better to add those at the very end. There needed to be a little bit more sauce too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by awilson614

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2011
nice recipe i almost forgot to add in the vegetables lol. it had a nice flavor and i would make this again any time
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jvu61

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bronx, New York, USA
Living In: Fishkill, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2011
this is absolutely delicious! I didn't have oyster sauce on hand, so added a few dashes of Worcestershire sauce. just wonderful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Soup Loving Nicole
Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2011
I took the advice of the recipe submitter and used our vegetables of choice. I used broccoli instead of the carrots, mushrooms, and I used 3 different variety of bell instead of just the green. I gave this a 4 instead of 5 because I think the sauce really does need doubled to flavor your veggies and coat your rice some. I will make this again and next time I will try it over noodles. Thanks for a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Soup Loving Nicole

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kansas City, Missouri, USA
Living In: West Fork, Arkansas, USA
Reviewed: May 22, 2008
I don't think this recipe gets enough credit for what it is. It's basically like a beef and broccoli recipe. It has a really good flavor and is great with rice. I ALWAYS double the sauce paste because it thickens better. I would definitely use oyster sauce if you can find it because it adds another good dash of flavor to the sauce. I only use broccoli with this recipe because I don't really like fancy colorful veggies. It's also a good basic recipe and leaves lots of room for adding your own things. Doesn't take very long either so give it a try.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
74 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2006
Sorry, but I am surprised by the great reviews this recipe received. The sauce did not thicken at all for me. It stayed very thin and soupy. By the time I gave up and added more starch, the ingredients were all overcooked. If I use this recipe again, I'll definitely decrease the amount of beef broth that I use or increase the amount of starch from the start.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 15, 2006
This is the first stir-fry I have made that my husband absolutely loved. We left out the oyster sauce and used 1/2 tbsp more soy sauce. We also added canned green beans right before serving (didn't have any fresh). The slight sweetness to the sauce made it great! We will be making this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Indianapolis, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2006
LOVED IT! I had left over steak which I cut in pieces. Added celery, broccoli, mushrooms and bean sprouts. As I write my husband is scraping out the remaining sauce from the skillet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 49) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Crunchy Kale Snacks
Crunchy Kale Snacks

Kale is the healthy, green leaf that transforms into a crunchy snack chip in your oven.

So Many Pork Chop Recipes
So Many Pork Chop Recipes

You can't go wrong choosing from over 400 pork chop recipes with ratings and tips!

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Beef Stew with Roasted Winter Vegetables

This hearty stew is fresh and flavorful, and makes a great comfort-food meal.

How to Make Beef Wellington

Make the classic filet mignon and mushroom dish named after Duke Wellington.

How to Cook Corned Beef and Cabbage

Watch how to make this traditional St. Patrick’s Day dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States