Beef with Vegetables Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2012
Oh this was yummy...I made a few changes due to what I had on hand but as long as you get the right kind of beef, it is tender and oh so yummy. I did not have any carrots, or ginger but did use bell pepper (red) and all the seasonings. I adjusted the seasoning for more flavor by adding more soy and oyster sauce. In the future I will add water chesnuts, maybe sprouts, multi color peppers and even tofu. A little extra cornstarch wouldn't hurt (the recipe calls for "corn flour" in step number 2). The title should be "Asian Beef and Veggies" maybe... Regardless, this was YUMMY. We served it over yellow rice (weird but it seemed to work well).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Phoenix, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2012
Whole family approved. Did not have oyster sauce put in 1/2 tbsp hot sauce and 1/2 tbsp of sesame oil
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2012
Okay, so I have 't actually made it. I wanted to ask a question. What exactly is beef filet? What cut is that? Filet Mignon?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2012
This recipe is great...made it for 2 people so halved the veggies but made a full amount of sauce. Served over rice. Delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2012
To make it even easier - use frozen Asian vegetables that already have a sauce on them. It's wonderful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2012
Excellent! However, the "paste" method in step 2 is hard to handle. Add 1/4 cup rice wine and wisk, then add to pan to thicken the sauce. I also added 2 thinly sliced fresh jalapenos for "Jalapeno Beef", found in every Chinese restaurant, here in Texas anyway. Double up on the Garlic and Ginger too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Garland, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2012
excellent!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Methuen, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 29, 2012
Oh oh, I hope the people reading this realize you meant cornstarch in your directions and NOT corn Flour. A novice might not know the difference. Proof reading your submission would have been a help.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Seattle2Sydney
Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2012
I don't think this is enough really for 4 servings. Also, just adding 1 onion, 1 green pepper and 1 carrot wasn't a terribly exciting vegetable mix or enough vegetables in my opinion, so I added plenty of other vegetables - extra carrot, snap peas, celery, broccoli, bamboo, etc. Also the sauce, although nice, was a little boring, so I would suggest spicing it up with some other ingredients. I added some sweet chilli sauce, but it would also be nice with other ingredients. It was a decent base recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2012
I made this for my family and it was not a hit. The meat was overcooked. However, the sauce was very good and flavorful, but tasted as if it was missing a spice. I will probably not make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 45) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Beef Stew with Roasted Winter Vegetables

This hearty stew is fresh and flavorful, and makes a great comfort-food meal.

How to Make Beef Wellington

Make the classic filet mignon and mushroom dish named after Duke Wellington.

Beef Tips

See how to make saucy, melt-in-your mouth beef tips.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States