Beef with Vegetables Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Photo by Seattle2Sydney
Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2012
I don't think this is enough really for 4 servings. Also, just adding 1 onion, 1 green pepper and 1 carrot wasn't a terribly exciting vegetable mix or enough vegetables in my opinion, so I added plenty of other vegetables - extra carrot, snap peas, celery, broccoli, bamboo, etc. Also the sauce, although nice, was a little boring, so I would suggest spicing it up with some other ingredients. I added some sweet chilli sauce, but it would also be nice with other ingredients. It was a decent base recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2012
I made this for my family and it was not a hit. The meat was overcooked. However, the sauce was very good and flavorful, but tasted as if it was missing a spice. I will probably not make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2012
ok, I used venison steak instead of beef and cut them into 1" stripes, and added onions,yellow pepper,red pepper, and shredded carrots. Moreover, I added Cabernet Sauvignon 1/2 cup, and the venison once the peppers and the onions were sautéed. On the side I made a rue (flower&butter), and added to the mix at the end. I must say it was awesome!!! Over rice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by rfanti

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Staten Island, New York, USA
Living In: Dandridge, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2012
Great basic recipe but it needed more spices (like garlic powder and cumin). I also added a dash of dry cooking wine for some twang. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2012
From the photo I was expecting broccoli to be in the recipe. Was it left out on purpose? I'd rather have broccoli in this than green peppers... roughly how much broccoli would I use and would this change the cooking time?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2012
Enjoyable dish. Made it again with chicken intead of beef using chicken broth. Can also add bamboo shoots, water chestnuts and bean sprouts.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2011
The combination of flavors were good but it wasn't strong enough. I added my own veggies (broccoli, squash, zucchini and carrots) and increased the amount of sauce. I also had to increase the amount of soy sauce and oyster sauce to help the flavor. I also added 1/2-1 teaspoon of fish sauce to try and enhance the flavor as well as hot chili oil to add spice. In the end, there was more flavor, but I didn't completely find the combination to feature the oyster sauce. Would make again with some adjusting in sauce proportions.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2011
Added also broccoli and red bell pepper to it and served it on a bed of couscous. Loved it, definitely making this one again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2011
I agree with Katherine. Flavor was a bit on the plain side for me, too much beef broth. If I make this recipe again, I will have to use less broth. the beef was overcooked and hardened by the time to finished the dish and the sauce never thickened. But it is a basic recipe and can be easily revised to desired liking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by naples34102
Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2011
We enjoyed this, but I improvised with the recipe, particularly in the technique. I used a sirloin steak that I sliced very thinly against the grain and on the diagonal when it was still in a semi-frozen state. Because it was so thinly sliced, it needed a very brief cooking time, just a minute or two on high heat. I removed it from the pan, then cooked the rest of the vegetables, little by little and being careful not to crowd the pan, on high heat and again, just a minute or so until they were crisp-tender. As I cooked each ingredient I dumped it in a “holding bowl.” When the meat and all the vegetables were cooked I returned it all back to the pan where I added the sauce ingredients, omitting the sugar and ginger, and enough broth to get it to the desired thickness. I like very little, if any, sauce with my stir fry, so the amount of it was just right for me – in fact, I didn’t even use all of the broth called for. Stir fry requires no simmering, so I returned it to the heat just long enough for the cornstarch mixture to thicken. Served over hot, cooked rice, this was so tasty, and just to our liking - without the sugar and ginger, and with nothing overcooked in order to retain each ingredient’s flavor and color. I’ll be “hitting the road” again, so this was an ideal and delicious way to make use of the baby bok choy, sweet onion, zucchini, mixed color bell peppers and mushrooms I had in the fridge.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
67 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA

Displaying results 21-30 (of 47) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Leftover Central
Leftover Central

The hard work's over, now celebrate the leftovers.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Beef Stew with Roasted Winter Vegetables

This hearty stew is fresh and flavorful, and makes a great comfort-food meal.

How to Make Beef Wellington

Make the classic filet mignon and mushroom dish named after Duke Wellington.

How to Cook Corned Beef and Cabbage

Watch how to make this traditional St. Patrick’s Day dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States