Beef with Green Onion Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2004
A very tasty recipe, but I did make a few changes. I doubled the sauce and added approx 1 T. soy sauce to the sauce (I didn't like the strong "fish" taste). Going on others' suggestions, I added carrots and broccoli. I didn't have any sherry and so I used Beef broth (which I use as a substitute for sherry most of the time). It turned out great! Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 21, 2004
This was yummy! I doubled the sauce and added a splash of soy sauce, as someone recommended. I also added freshly diced ginger and broccoli and called it broccoli beef. I made rice and fresh wontons to go with it (I used the recipe inside of the wonton wrapper to make them). There's definitely no need to add salt to this as it's pretty sodium-rich (maybe it was the splash of soy). My Mom gave me some asian cooking tips as she was over: Stir fry is done at very high eat, so crank it up. Cook the beef first, then remove it. Add the veggies (no more oil) and about 1/4 cup of water and put a lid on it. About a minute later return the beef to the pan and created an opening in the center of the pan. Pour the sauce in there and stir it around in the middle until it's translucency changes (about 1 minute). Combine all ingredients and serve. My husband said that this was restaurant quality and perhaps the best broccoli beef he's ever had!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KERI KENNELLY

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 28, 2003
This is an excellent dish. I didn't have any sherry so used port instead. I also added some regular sliced onion, garlic & mixed veges and served with fried rice. YUMMY!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Hot Chilli

Cooking Level: Expert

Photo by Chicken
Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2008
I did end up doubling the sherry and fish sauce component of the sauce but left the other measurements the same. I served it over my own fried rice recipe. It turned out amazing! I will be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chicken

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dunedin, Otago, New Zealand
Reviewed: May 25, 2004
The family loved it. You can add a variety of vegetables to this recipe. I added yellow pepper, red pepper and garlic. I doubled the sauce to spoon over the rice. Will definitely make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA
Living In: Anaheim, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2005
This was a quick weeknite meal. Added broccoli and red pepper strips. Also, took advice of reviewers and added soy to the sauce. Very nice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2009
OMG! This was SO Yummy. I did make a couple of adjustments. I used White cooking wine instead of sherry because that is what I had on hand. I doubled the sauce and added broccoli. This was very easy and tastey. Don't leave out the oyster sauce. It just makes the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by wtpooh

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Prattville, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2009
we loved this. it is super easy and super quick, and makes for a great last-minute meal! i didn't use any oyster sauce (i didn't have any in the house); I just used 2 tblspns of soy sauce in stead. worked and tasted great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2007
I am rating this a 4* because as is I think it deserves a 2-3*, but with the modifications it deserves a 5*+, and I don't want people to dicouraged in trying this. I followed the recommendations: double the sauce (still wasn't enough for me, so I wound up whipping up some more right after adding the sauce and veggies to the meat then adding that also), add a TBS soy (per serving of sauce). I didn't have dry sherry so I used sherry cooking wine I had on hand (and added 1TBS beef broth per sauce serving just because I had a bit left over in the fridge). I added about 3 cups broccoli florets, and about 10 or so baby carrots cut in quarters lengthwise. Last but not least I added 2 cloves garlic and about a quarter of an onion, both thinly sliced. I will add more green onions next time. Besides the time it takes to cut the veggies, this is a SUPER FAST AND DELICIOUS meal! Tasted like we'd ordered out! I served over white rice. Enjoy!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kenya

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2006
Overall, a very easy and good basic stir-fry recipe. I added 1T soysauce and 3T water (I don't like thick cornstarchy sauce base, I prefer mine thinner). Green onions were a bit over cooked for my taste so next time I'll throw them in at the last minute or two.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 29) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Almost Fat-Free Green Onion Potato Salad

See how to make a creamy potato salad that’s almost entirely fat-free.

How to Make Corned Beef and Cabbage

See how to make the official meal of St. Patrick’s Day.

How to Cook Corned Beef and Cabbage

Watch how to make this traditional St. Patrick’s Day dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States