Beef with Green Onion Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2003
simply delicious! I made the recipe for 4 servings, counting on leftovers. I ate my 1/4 share and my husband devoured the rest! and he's the pickiest eater I know. This recipe is a definite keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Clermont, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2003
Just wonderful. What a unique flavor. Super over rice. Will make it again for sure.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Montreal, Quebec, Canada
Living In: Chateauguay, Quebec, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 28, 2003
This is an excellent dish. I didn't have any sherry so used port instead. I also added some regular sliced onion, garlic & mixed veges and served with fried rice. YUMMY!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Hot Chilli

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2003
AWESOME!!! This has the best stir fry taste. It was a big hit at my dinner party. I added a variety of veggies and added extra sauce and it turn out great. This will be a weekly meal for my family. Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2003
I had some filet mignon that I had to make really quickly so I used this sauce recipe. This was pretty good and my husband really liked it but I think I prefer a marinated steak (this didn't have quite enough flavor for my liking). I would use the same sauce again if I didn't have the time to marinate. It was quick and easy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2004
A very tasty recipe, but I did make a few changes. I doubled the sauce and added approx 1 T. soy sauce to the sauce (I didn't like the strong "fish" taste). Going on others' suggestions, I added carrots and broccoli. I didn't have any sherry and so I used Beef broth (which I use as a substitute for sherry most of the time). It turned out great! Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 21, 2004
This was yummy! I doubled the sauce and added a splash of soy sauce, as someone recommended. I also added freshly diced ginger and broccoli and called it broccoli beef. I made rice and fresh wontons to go with it (I used the recipe inside of the wonton wrapper to make them). There's definitely no need to add salt to this as it's pretty sodium-rich (maybe it was the splash of soy). My Mom gave me some asian cooking tips as she was over: Stir fry is done at very high eat, so crank it up. Cook the beef first, then remove it. Add the veggies (no more oil) and about 1/4 cup of water and put a lid on it. About a minute later return the beef to the pan and created an opening in the center of the pan. Pour the sauce in there and stir it around in the middle until it's translucency changes (about 1 minute). Combine all ingredients and serve. My husband said that this was restaurant quality and perhaps the best broccoli beef he's ever had!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KERI KENNELLY

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 25, 2004
Thanks for this tasty recipe - it's great for 'add-ons' as reviews mention. I find that the reviews almost always contain handy tips and always read them before trying a new recipe. As one reviewer mentioned, it's perfectly fine to substitute more liquid already used in the recipe for any alcohol called for. I have many allergies and food intolerances and alcohol is one of the many. Love your recipes!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Hamilton, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 25, 2004
The family loved it. You can add a variety of vegetables to this recipe. I added yellow pepper, red pepper and garlic. I doubled the sauce to spoon over the rice. Will definitely make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA
Living In: Anaheim, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2004
I really didn't find this recipe that exciting. I won't make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Corner Brook, Newfoundland, Canada
Living In: New York, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 30) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Muffins Are Perfect Anytime
Muffins Are Perfect Anytime

Muffins are great for breakfast, with coffee, or just as a snack on the go.

Soup For What Ails You
Soup For What Ails You

Soup is what the doctor ordered to cure those winter blahs.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Almost Fat-Free Green Onion Potato Salad

See how to make a creamy potato salad that’s almost entirely fat-free.

How to Cook Corned Beef and Cabbage

Watch how to make this traditional St. Patrick’s Day dish.

How to Make Corned Beef and Cabbage

See how to make the official meal of St. Patrick’s Day.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States