Beef with Green Onion Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2014
This was absolutely YUM YUM YUMMY !I doubled the sauce and increased the sugar just a tad. This one is a keeper for sure.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2013
Amazing! I have to admit, the smell of oyster sauce has kept me from cooking with it for a long time, but now I've seen the error of my ways. I added a tbsp of soy sauce to the original sauce recipe and made 4x the amount. Used London broil sliced very thinly. After frying the meat in sesame and olive oil quickly with some onion and garlic, I added mushrooms, broccoli, cauliflower, red, yellow and orange bell peppers, zucchini and water chestnuts, along with the sauce, and let it steam for a few minutes while I boiled some Udon noodles. The sauce was amazing, the meat was tender and flavorful, just an all around wonderful dish. Thanks for sharing. We make stir fry all the time and this will be our new go to recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by aimeelynn

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Santa Cruz, California, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2011
This was great. I did add some garlic powder. Kids even gobbled it up. Will make it again for sure.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2011
It's so so.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Taipei, Taipei, Taiwan
Living In: Bellevue, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2010
I was definately PLEASANTLY surprised with this recipe. I did add soy sauce to cut back on the fishy taste as recommended by others. But I didnt taste it much. I doubled the recipe because i had 2lbs. of meat instead of one, and added red pepper flakes for a little kick. I will surely be making this again very soon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2009
OMG! This was SO Yummy. I did make a couple of adjustments. I used White cooking wine instead of sherry because that is what I had on hand. I doubled the sauce and added broccoli. This was very easy and tastey. Don't leave out the oyster sauce. It just makes the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by wtpooh

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Prattville, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2009
we loved this. it is super easy and super quick, and makes for a great last-minute meal! i didn't use any oyster sauce (i didn't have any in the house); I just used 2 tblspns of soy sauce in stead. worked and tasted great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Chicken
Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2008
I did end up doubling the sherry and fish sauce component of the sauce but left the other measurements the same. I served it over my own fried rice recipe. It turned out amazing! I will be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chicken

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dunedin, Otago, New Zealand
Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2007
We both thought it was yummuy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2007
I am rating this a 4* because as is I think it deserves a 2-3*, but with the modifications it deserves a 5*+, and I don't want people to dicouraged in trying this. I followed the recommendations: double the sauce (still wasn't enough for me, so I wound up whipping up some more right after adding the sauce and veggies to the meat then adding that also), add a TBS soy (per serving of sauce). I didn't have dry sherry so I used sherry cooking wine I had on hand (and added 1TBS beef broth per sauce serving just because I had a bit left over in the fridge). I added about 3 cups broccoli florets, and about 10 or so baby carrots cut in quarters lengthwise. Last but not least I added 2 cloves garlic and about a quarter of an onion, both thinly sliced. I will add more green onions next time. Besides the time it takes to cut the veggies, this is a SUPER FAST AND DELICIOUS meal! Tasted like we'd ordered out! I served over white rice. Enjoy!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kenya

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 29) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

No-Fuss Party Food
No-Fuss Party Food

Easy recipes for summer get-togethers.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Almost Fat-Free Green Onion Potato Salad

See how to make a creamy potato salad that’s almost entirely fat-free.

How to Make Corned Beef and Cabbage

See how to make the official meal of St. Patrick’s Day.

How to Cook Corned Beef and Cabbage

Watch how to make this traditional St. Patrick’s Day dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States