Beef with Caramelized Shallots Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2012
Was really good! Used two skillets to cook sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2012
I did not use dijon (didn't have any on hand), used only two shallots, used Knorr concentrated broth packets and added frozen broccoli at the end and covered, just long enough to steam the broccoli. The flavor was unbelievably savory and the broccoli added was a great way to get my kids to gobble up their veggies. *Tip, only brown the pieces of beef quickly on both sides. It will cook the rest of the way during the steaming of the broccoli.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2012
This was an excellent and quick week night recipe. I added portabella mushrooms to the mixture. Make sure you butter your noodles. Next time I may add some heavy cream to the sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2012
Wondering if anyone else made this and found that there was not enough sauce and the beef was tuff.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2012
Excellent.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful
Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2012
This was really good. I made some changes as follows: Used 2 lbs of sirloin steak, 10 shallots, 1 tub Knorrs beef homestyle stock (couldn't find Swanson). I wanted more sauce so I used 3/4 cup of red wine and 2 tbsp of vinegar, no mustard. After it reduced, I mixed in the Knorrs beef stock. When it was incorporated into the sauce, I added about a 1/2 cup of water to dilute the strong wine/vinegar mixture. I then used cornstarch to thicken at the end. This ended up being a perfect size meal for 4 people. Pretty simple and tasty recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2012
Awesome! I added fresh mushrooms and it was terrific!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2012
I can only rate this 3 stars at the moment. I think the recipe, as written, calls for too much red wine. I couldn't taste the mustard at all. The wine and balsamic overwhelmed it. I'd suggest 1/4 cup wine and perhaps 1-2 teaspoons of balsamic. The meat did come out very tender. I liked it over the noodles. Could not find the Swanson Flavor Boost so used Knorr Homestyle Stock (beef) instead. DON'T USE THIS. It was SO strong it made the dish hard to eat. (my review is not based on this swap, though, it's based on the wine/vinegar taste). Ends up we don't like shallots either, although we're huge onion fans. Will tweak this recipe to fit our tastebuds. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Northampton, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Naugatuck, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 13, 2013
I tried adding some fresh mushrooms and broccoli for a complete meal, and was very dissapointed. No one in my large family liked it. I think there is too much wine in the sauce as it seemed to overpower everything else. Also, the Dijon didn't compliment the other flavors. It was just kind of out there.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 8, 2013
I might make this again. The sauce was good, but not as flavorful as I was expecting or wanting. If I do make it again, I'm doubling the sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 13) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

No-Fuss Party Food
No-Fuss Party Food

Easy recipes for summer get-togethers.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Prosciutto Asparagus

This holiday appetizer couldn't be easier--or tastier!

Roasted Turkey

See how to make juicy roasted turkey with a savory gravy.

Praline Pumpkin Mousse Cornucopias

Puff pastry makes a tasty "shell" to hold creamy pumpkin mousse. Yum!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States