Beef or Moose Jerky Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by silentturnip
Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2014
TASTES LIKE BEEF!!! I marinated sliced moose rump roast for 5 hours and dehydrated for about 12 hours and it turned out nice and chewy. I added garlic powder and chili pepper flakes to make it sweet and spicy. I don't like much hickory so I only added about 9 drops which didn't really taste at all. The recipe calls for 4 fluid ounces of liquid smoke which seems like too much for me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by silentturnip

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Geraldton, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2009
This recipe as is was very very good. But the next time I will cut back on the sugar. My Boy Scouts loved it. So did my family. Just a little to sweet for my taste but so easy to make. I will certainly do this again. The nice thing is its not as salty as the packaged mixes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MarkWMurray

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Littleton, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Forest Lake, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2008
It is really good. For more flavor just add garlic powder, onion powder, basil. Just use your imagination and spices.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2005
use all the time
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LB1LEEMA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 10, 2004
Personally I used Top Round. I found it pre-thin cut at the Commissary on base. I dont know if you can get it like that at a regular grocery store but it works great and the meat isnt as fatty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2004
To bland for my taste and way to much soy flavor!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SHADOWS1

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2002
This is a great recipe. If you like the flavor of Teriyaki Jerky add teriyaki sauce to this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2001
It was simple to whip up and made the whole house smell wonderful. A great treat for the jerky lovin man in your house, kids loved it too! The taste was so rich and flavorful. A great way to get rid of those darn rump roasts.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog



 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Doc's Best Beef Jerky

See how to make beef jerky from scratch in the oven or a dehydrator.

Santa Maria Grilled Tri-Tip Beef

See how to make classic California-style barbecued tri-tip.

Chef John’s Beef Sliders

See how to make perfect homemade sliders.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States