Beef or Moose Jerky Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by silentturnip
Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2014
TASTES LIKE BEEF!!! I marinated sliced moose rump roast for 5 hours and dehydrated for about 12 hours and it turned out nice and chewy. I added garlic powder and chili pepper flakes to make it sweet and spicy. I don't like much hickory so I only added about 9 drops which didn't really taste at all. The recipe calls for 4 fluid ounces of liquid smoke which seems like too much for me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by silentturnip

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Geraldton, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2009
This recipe as is was very very good. But the next time I will cut back on the sugar. My Boy Scouts loved it. So did my family. Just a little to sweet for my taste but so easy to make. I will certainly do this again. The nice thing is its not as salty as the packaged mixes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MarkWMurray

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Littleton, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Forest Lake, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2008
It is really good. For more flavor just add garlic powder, onion powder, basil. Just use your imagination and spices.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2005
use all the time
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LB1LEEMA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 10, 2004
Personally I used Top Round. I found it pre-thin cut at the Commissary on base. I dont know if you can get it like that at a regular grocery store but it works great and the meat isnt as fatty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2004
To bland for my taste and way to much soy flavor!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SHADOWS1

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2002
This is a great recipe. If you like the flavor of Teriyaki Jerky add teriyaki sauce to this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2001
It was simple to whip up and made the whole house smell wonderful. A great treat for the jerky lovin man in your house, kids loved it too! The taste was so rich and flavorful. A great way to get rid of those darn rump roasts.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog



 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Winningest Football Party Ever
Winningest Football Party Ever

Big, bold food is always the best play. Get the top recipes now.

 Super Bowl Appetizers
Super Bowl Appetizers

How much jalapeno and bacon will it take to fuel YOUR fans?

Allrecipes Magazine
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Doc's Best Beef Jerky

See how to make beef jerky from scratch in the oven or a dehydrator.

Santa Maria Grilled Tri-Tip Beef

See how to make classic California-style barbecued tri-tip.

Chicago-Inspired Italian Beef Sandwich

It’s Chef John’s tasty take on a classic Chicago-style beef sandwich.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States