Beef or Chicken Marinade Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Jillian
Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2009
Delicious! I used this on chicken, but can't wait to try it on beef. I used olive oil instead of veg. oil and low sodium soy sauce. I also opted for minced garlic from the jar vs. garlic powder. I pounded the chicken down to tenderize and to thin them out a bit before marinating them all day. They soaked up most of the marinade. I think using honey actually made the green onions stick better and I had no trouble with anything burning on the grill. If you like this marinade, you'll love Unbelievable Chicken from this site. UPDATE: I marinated sirloin steak with this marinade for 6 hours with the same modifications and it came out great. This does work on beef or chicken!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
73 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jillian

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Allentown, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2007
Wow....this is some fantastic stuff!!! MY hubby, the "cook," was ready to call people and brag on me for creating this wonderful chicken. I used about 8 tenders, and I had to adjust the recipe slightly. I used cider vinegar instead of white, 1 1/2 tbs. of minced onion instead of green onion, 3 tbs. of brown sugar instead of the honey, and I didn't use the ginger. Also, I only marinated for about 2 hrs. Let me tell you....this was sooooo yummy! I broiled in the oven and flipped them every few minutes at first, and then as they started to really caramelize I flipped every 1 1/2 minutes....about 9 minutes total. Moist and flavorful!!! Not at all salty...but, I suspect if you marinated for a long time...maybe that's when the soy would become overpowering. We can't say enough about this marinade....next is chicken legs!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
59 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2003
Very good. I used this on boneless skinless chicken breasts, which I halved. I grilled them on foil for a few minutes to allow the chicken to cook without burning the outside (other reviewers mentioned the marinade burned easily). Then I put them directly on the grill until they were done. They turned out perfectly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
47 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2004
I made the marinade for beef with the intention of grilling it but at dinner time we felt like a stir fry....I stir fried the beef in a bit of oil, set it aside and stir fried some veggies, added a bit of the marinade (bring to a boil first to kill the germy things that may be in there) and served over rice. It may be the best stir fry we've ever had. Bye bye store boughy stir fry sauce!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2004
This recipe is easy to prepare. I also like the fact that the ingredients are readily available. When I looked at the set of ingredients, though, I thought that it can still be improved. Instead of using vegetable oil, I used olive oil because it has better aroma and it leaves a hint of flavor in ur dishes (rather than vegetable oil which can be bland for some people). Likewise, I also increased the amount of honey in the recipe (or sugar). I also used regular onions instead of green onions because the flavor or the onion bulb is stronger. Feel free to add dried herbs and spices to taste. Squeeze in lemon juice. Marinade it for 3 days before grilling, or broiling, or baking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by GodivaGirl
Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2008
Very Moist! I halved this recipe, used chicken tenders and used agave nectar in place of honey. Only marinated for 1 hour and still had good flavor. This was a nice, quick and used ingredients I had on hand. Will use this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GodivaGirl

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Youngstown, Ohio, USA
Living In: Virginia Beach, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2003
GREAT! Followed recipe to a tee...marinated both t-bone steaks and boneless chix breasts to grill out over the weekend. Beef could've marinated longer, but the chicken was wonderful and flavorful. Will use regularly, have ingredients on hand always.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by schafer5

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 31, 2004
Used this for lunch today. Worked out wonderfully. I agree with some other reviewers that the soy sauce was a bit strong. I will use again with some tinkering. Thank you for the post.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Momof2

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Saint Louis, Missouri, USA
Living In: Florissant, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 5, 2003
I used this on pork chops. It was so good. The marinade is slightly sweet and really has a good flavor. I didn't have any green onions, so I used just sliced regular onions.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: D'iberville, Mississippi, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 27, 2004
Great recipe that was enjoyed by all. I used all the ingredients but without measuring.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 224) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Marinade for Chicken

This versatile marinade is great for grilling chicken, and is simple to make.

Rusty Chicken Thighs

See how to make a simple marinade for gorgeous grilled or broiled chicken.

Ramjam Chicken

A 5-star white wine and spice marinade that’s perfect for grilled chicken.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States