Beef 'n' Eggplant Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2013
This was a huge hit in my home! We grow several varieties of eggplant from seed, and wound up needing to find recipes to cook them other than "Parmesan"! Well, my family, even my 6 kids, down to the little one, told me "Yummy"! Thank you for sharing, Audrey! I am asked to make it often!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Grobiegirl1

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: North Arlington, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Rutherford, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2012
This was a yummy delight! I made the filling as written but used refrigerated biscuits for the crust. I would make it with the pie crust next time. Very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FrackFamily5

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Catasauqua, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Corona, California, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2012
This came out fantastic! Only things different: I used 3 turkey brats that I broke the casings off of and cooked and rinsed. Husband loved it because it satisfied his pizza craving without the grease.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Erin

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Port Orchard, Washington, USA
Living In: Cumming, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2012
I have never been a big fan of eggplant, but this recipe is delicious ! Rather than use two cans of tomato sauce, I used 1 can of Rotel tomato sauce and a half a can of Rotel tomatoes. I also sautéed all of the vegetables together after I had browned and drained my meat. Added a pinch of cayenne for a little spice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2012
This recipe is delicious! Made a few changes after the first time we made it in the pastry shell. We have tossed it over both pasta and rice instead of baking it in the pastry shell. Added a large can of diced tomatoes and 2 cans of the sauce so it was extra saucy. Easy to make and one of the best recipies I have made from this site.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2012
Delicious! I used potato for the base instead of a pie crust. Also, I peeled the eggplant put a little water and cooked that in one pot till it melted and the beef in another, then combined and followed your recipe, yum....with some bread crumbs on top,
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2012
Delicious and perfectly seasoned!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2011
Pretty good! It was a great way to use up some eggplant and I love that it made two!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by CRUISEM
Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2011
This recipe is really good! For the first try, I made it as written and the only change i might make in the future is to add more garlic, onions and celery. Otherwise super yum! TY for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CRUISEM

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Toms River, New Jersey, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2011
Good filling but rather bland. Used all fresh herbs from our garden for the best taste but still didn't seem great. Recommend adding a little hot spice to perk it up. Like other reviewers, I did not care for the pie shell since the filling really doesn't get hard enough to stay firm. Folding an egg into the warm filling might improve the consistency by binding the filling better. Won't be making this one again but will keep the filling in mind as the base for a pasta sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 29) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States