Beef in Bay Leaf Gravy Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2002
It's a great dish and we Czechs call it SVICKOVA
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2002
This was way to tart for me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2002
i never follow recipes but i trust this is deliscious as is. i added it to my recipe box.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2003
I used 1/2 c. vinegar and 2 1/2 c. because I don't like a strong vinegar taste. It turned out really well and this was my first time cooking a roast. The roast was perfectly tender and quite tasty...even better the second day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kirkland, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 17, 2003
No one in my family liked this. The meat was tender but it tasted like vinegar. Maybe I should have cut back on the vinegar like another review had suggested. Thanks anyway.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Anaheim, California, USA
Living In: Coral Springs, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2005
I just made this recipe - it was my first pot roast ever - and it turned out great! Soooo easy. My husband rated it 5 stars :) However, I do think that next time I won't use as much vinegar as the recipe calls for. But other than that it was fantastic!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2006
A really fantastic dish. I used a cross-rib roast and halved the recipe, and it was still great. I didn't have as much sour cream as the recipe called for, but I thickened the gravy with a little milk and cornstarch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2006
This sounded like such a winner that I almost invited guests ... thank heaven I didn't! The only thing that can be said for this is that it tasted good BUT the appearance is AWFUL ... even after I stirred in cornstarch paste to thicken it. Don't try this!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chestertown, Maryland, USA
Living In: Dover, Delaware, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2008
This is a wonderfull recipe I will use it, as is, over and over again Thank You "GURMETFOX"!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2008
This recipe was too sour. The use of white vinegar was over powering. My husband refused to eat it. Now I have a lot of sour meat to eat on my own.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lisa Ceh

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hamilton, Missouri, USA
Living In: Caboolture, Queensland, Australia

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 13) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Classic Beef Stroganoff

Watch Chef John prepare his secret recipe for creamy beef stroganoff.

Beef Short Ribs Sauerbraten

See how to make tender beef short ribs, German-style.

Beef Tips

See how to make saucy, melt-in-your mouth beef tips.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States