Beef in Bay Leaf Gravy Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2013
We liked this. It was a unique flavor. We added potatoes and used a fig balsamic vinegar and it came out very good. If we would have used white vinegar it would not have been very good. I would suggest any balsamic vinegar or at least a red wine vinegar . White vinegar is pretty harsh and is used often for cleaning coffee pots. ANY higher quality vinegar will improve this dish. We also doubled all the veggies. this recipe makes a lot of sauce. We reduced the extra sauce with some tapioca and it made a great sauce that we used on baked pork chops a few days later.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2011
I have made this recipe before but with two important differences. Instead of vinegar, use two large dill pickles chopped into 1/2" pieces. The acdid in the pickles tenderizes the meat, just like the vinegar does but it adds a nicer flavor. To all the other ingredients, add a package of dried mushrooms (boletus is best) that have been rehydrated in warm water. This is really one of my favorite recipes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: London, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Thunder Bay, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2010
Very good, as long as you like vinegary flavors. The "gravy" was very watery, and not what i would consider gravy, but it tasted very good, and we sopped it up with bread like Gourmetfox reccomended. Perhaps cooking it un-covered would make the gravy thick.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2008
This recipe was too sour. The use of white vinegar was over powering. My husband refused to eat it. Now I have a lot of sour meat to eat on my own.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lisa Ceh

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hamilton, Missouri, USA
Living In: Caboolture, Queensland, Australia

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2008
This is a wonderfull recipe I will use it, as is, over and over again Thank You "GURMETFOX"!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2006
This sounded like such a winner that I almost invited guests ... thank heaven I didn't! The only thing that can be said for this is that it tasted good BUT the appearance is AWFUL ... even after I stirred in cornstarch paste to thicken it. Don't try this!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chestertown, Maryland, USA
Living In: Dover, Delaware, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2006
A really fantastic dish. I used a cross-rib roast and halved the recipe, and it was still great. I didn't have as much sour cream as the recipe called for, but I thickened the gravy with a little milk and cornstarch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2005
I just made this recipe - it was my first pot roast ever - and it turned out great! Soooo easy. My husband rated it 5 stars :) However, I do think that next time I won't use as much vinegar as the recipe calls for. But other than that it was fantastic!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 17, 2003
No one in my family liked this. The meat was tender but it tasted like vinegar. Maybe I should have cut back on the vinegar like another review had suggested. Thanks anyway.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Roxanne Oberlin Rutkowski

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Anaheim, California, USA
Living In: Coral Springs, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2003
I used 1/2 c. vinegar and 2 1/2 c. because I don't like a strong vinegar taste. It turned out really well and this was my first time cooking a roast. The roast was perfectly tender and quite tasty...even better the second day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kirkland, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 13) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Best Thanksgiving Recipes
Best Thanksgiving Recipes

From the bird to the sides to the cranberry sauce and the pie, it's all here for you.

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

How to Make Classic Beef Stroganoff

Watch Chef John prepare his secret recipe for creamy beef stroganoff.

Beef Short Ribs Sauerbraten

See how to make tender beef short ribs, German-style.

Beef Tips

See how to make saucy, melt-in-your mouth beef tips.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States