Beef and Wine Soup with Dumplings Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2002
I decided to make this tonite because I'm enjoying cooking different types food. It was great. When I first started cooking it, I thought the wine was going to take over, but it combined with the other liquids came out great. I did use roll dumplings and they were really good. I do want to try the others too. Thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2004
This is AMAZING! Healthy, easy and SO GOOD! My whole family LOVED it! Not the dumplings, though. We skip the dumpling step completely and serve it with crusty bread. Also, added thyme and parsley with the salt and pepper. Thank you, Elizabeth, for a new family fave!!!! It is requested I make this just about every week!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2003
Great,easy and cheap. What a combination. You can eliminate the dumplings and just thicken with flour and water at the end.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2003
This recipe is fabulous, the wine adds an especially rich flavor to it. My only beef (teehee) is that it seemed a little salty. Next time I might substitute some of the condensed beef broth with water.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by EMILYFONTES

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2004
Very delicious! My husband enjoyed it as well. He said it was "resturant" quality. I used a merlot red wine and seasoned the broth to our liking with different spices and sauces I had. I did use the dumpling recipe and thought it tasted fine. I will be making this soup again. Thanks for sharing the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Stacy Bennett Wesley

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Chisholm, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2004
I made this last night, and it was a big hit. We ate our soup with a baguette, which is a good replacement for the dumplings, which were too runny and soggy. I'd put in mushrooms next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2003
This was the 1st time I've ever made homemade soup & it turned out wonderful. Everyone loved it. Did not like how the dumplings turned out, next time I'll use Bisquick dumplings.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2004
i loved this recipe. i did change the dumplings a little because of other reviews. i added some fresh parsley and some other spices. i also cooked the dumplings for 20 mins instead of ten. everybody loved this!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Willow Grove, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2004
So simple, yet so FABULOUS! Instead of pre-cooking the beef, I just sauteed it with the veggies. I had to add a bit more flour to get the right consistency for the dumplings (I used extra large eggs, which resulted in a runny batter without the addition of extra flour). Thank you, Elizabeth!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2005
Great tasting and so easy! I reduced wine to 1 cup to please the kids and added 1 can of diced tomatoes with juice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 49) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Beef Barley Vegetable Soup

A hearty beef and barley soup loaded with plenty of vegetables.

Easy Vegetable Beef Soup

See how to make a super-simple soup with veggies and ground beef.

Spicy Vietnamese Beef Noodle Soup

Chef John makes pho, the spicy Vietnamese noodle soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States