Beef and Wine Soup with Dumplings Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2005
How can you say the Prep Time is 5 minutes? I find that deceptive - especially if one is looking for a fast and easy meal to prepare on a worknight. How is that calculated - once everything is brought together, chopped, diced, portioned, etc? I would put the Prep Time at at least 20 to 30 minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by NYCTEXAN

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Amarillo, Texas, USA
Living In: Manhattan, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2005
Very good. I also added mushrooms.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JENNIFERB1

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2005
Easy to make and absolutely delicious. This was loved by not only me and my husband but by my 7 and 9 year old. I will be making this again and again. THANKS!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Hauppauge, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2005
Excellent. Substituted egg noodles in place of dumplings after reading the other reviews. One of my favorite soups.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2005
I served this dish at my christmas eve celebration and it was amazing. My SiL asked me for the recipe. I did not make the dumplings I added egg noodles instead. I will be making this alot. Thanks Elizabeth.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2005
Great tasting and so easy! I reduced wine to 1 cup to please the kids and added 1 can of diced tomatoes with juice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2005
I love beef, love red wine, and dumplings make me weak in the knees. I thought this would be the perfect soup recipe but it was not even mediocre. I followed the recipe EXACTLY and got a bland soup with so so dumplings. Not worth the ingredients for me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2004
This is AMAZING! Healthy, easy and SO GOOD! My whole family LOVED it! Not the dumplings, though. We skip the dumpling step completely and serve it with crusty bread. Also, added thyme and parsley with the salt and pepper. Thank you, Elizabeth, for a new family fave!!!! It is requested I make this just about every week!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2004
I made this last night, and it was a big hit. We ate our soup with a baguette, which is a good replacement for the dumplings, which were too runny and soggy. I'd put in mushrooms next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2004
So simple, yet so FABULOUS! Instead of pre-cooking the beef, I just sauteed it with the veggies. I had to add a bit more flour to get the right consistency for the dumplings (I used extra large eggs, which resulted in a runny batter without the addition of extra flour). Thank you, Elizabeth!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 49) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Beef Barley Vegetable Soup

A hearty beef and barley soup loaded with plenty of vegetables.

Easy Vegetable Beef Soup

See how to make a super-simple soup with veggies and ground beef.

Spicy Vietnamese Beef Noodle Soup

Chef John makes pho, the spicy Vietnamese noodle soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States