Beef and Wine Soup with Dumplings Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2007
This was a great soup, my family loved it. I did use more tomato juice and a little less wine and it was perfect. I also added some mushrooms too. Thanks so much for sharing this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2005
Maybe it was the wine I used, but no one in my family liked the flavor of this soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Wauwatosa, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Madison, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 26, 2005
Alittle to strong for us....but good. It reminded us of a french meal. I think as a base for roast it'd be perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Northport, New York, USA
Living In: Dalworthington Gardens, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2005
This soup is EXCELLENT! I used meatballs in place of the stew meat, and it was wonderful! The longer you simmer, the better the flavor. Thanks for a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kristy Hopkins

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Sturgis, Michigan, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2005
My husband loved this, but I thought it was much too strong. Next time I will either cut down on the wine or simmer longer to tame the flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2005
Hearty soup. I cut the wine in half and so glad I did. Made a great roast that I cut up to go in it. Used noodles vs. dumplings and thought it appropriate. Soup tasted even better a few days later.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2005
I enjoyed this soup, but my roommate did not. He didn't care for the strong wine flavor that was present. I used a smooth merlot that added depth but the overall recipe was less flavorful than I had hoped! I made the following changes / tweaks: added an entire chopped small yellow onion, used 3 cloves of garlic, added a 1/2 pound of sliced mushrooms, used approx. 6 oz. of dumpling style egg noodles and increased the tomato juice and red wine by 1 cup each. If I make this in the future (which I probably won't) I will increase only the tomato juice and broth by 1 cup each and decrease the wine by 1 cup. Some additional spices should be added for flavor, but I am not sure which ones. Thyme and parsley?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RogueOnion8

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Vancouver, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2005
The soup is delicious but next time I would leave out the dumplings and just sprinkle the soup with a little cheese or a sprig of dill.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2005
A very flavourful, quick and easy meal! From start to finish it was on the table in less than 30 minutes. I did not make the dumplings...just not a dumpling kind of family...but I did add some barley shaped egg noodles. My whole family loved this soup. I used a left over roast beef, and almost a cup of au ju from that meal. I cut the wine down to 1 cup, and used bloody mary mix instead of tomato juice. I will DEFINATELY make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JuiceMom

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2005
I thought the soup was a little bland. Added some pepper flakes and it gave it just enough "kick." Also, browned the beef and then put everything in the crock pot on high for 4 hours. Didn't make the dumplins..too many calories. Will keep in recipe file.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Ivesdale, Illinois, USA
Living In: Saint George, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 49) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Easy Vegetable Beef Soup

See how to make a super-simple soup with veggies and ground beef.

Beef Barley Vegetable Soup

A hearty beef and barley soup loaded with plenty of vegetables.

Spicy Vietnamese Beef Noodle Soup

Chef John makes pho, the spicy Vietnamese noodle soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States