Beef and Wine Soup with Dumplings Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2014
My kids said it tasted lemony, which I think was because of the wine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Seelymo

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Vancouver, Washington, USA
Living In: Springfield, Missouri, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2014
I really liked the broth on this. Based on a reviewer saying it had a strong wine taste, I did half velvet moon cabernet and half water. I mixed up broth using broth paste. I didnt have any V8 like juice, so I used some canned diced tomatoes, water to equal 2 cups, a few slices of yellow pepper, parsley, celery seed, and some garlic and onion powder I blended in my vitamix. I didnt have celery, but it was fine. Only issue with soup is it is slightly thin for having dumplings and the dumplings were extremely bland. I would use like a Bisquick type dumpling biscuit. It is softer and has more flavor. The soup is also on the acidic side with the tomatoes and wine, so something to consider. It has a bolder flavor than typical soups.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Blender Woman

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Detroit, Michigan, USA
Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2014
Excellent flavor - omitted the dumplings however, so can't comment on them but the soup was fabulous.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Edmonton, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2013
When I saw this recipe I thought to myself..."beef, wine, dumplings? How could this not be amazing?" Well let me tell you...it was bland and tasted overpoweringly of wine. And I love wine. No one in my family could eat it. I tried it the next day for lunch at work because soup is usually better the next day and pretty sure I was buzzed after eating it. Which is ok if you need an excuse to drink at work, but probably won't make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Chimacum, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2012
I've been making this recipe for at least five years! During the winter, I make it at least twice a month. It is one of the best I've ever had. Customizations that work for my family: I add thyme and a bay leaf and fiddle with the amounts of veggies. I skip the dumplings (they just don't really go with this soup). Instead, I make barley separately and add it to our bowls when I serve because otherwise the barley soaks up all the amazing broth! Hands down, this is one of the best soup recipes on this site! Thank you, Elizabeth!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by mommyluvs2cook
Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2012
The soup was delicious...hated the dumplings. They looked like little brains and honestly had this horrible texture...5 for the soup...2 for the dumplings...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mommyluvs2cook

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA
Living In: Santa Fe, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2012
I tried this this evening as I had some steak left over. I didn't have any tomato juice so I used a small can of diced tomatoes with Italian spices. I used a McCormick beef bouillon cube instead of soup again because I didn't have any soup and I used de alcoholized red wine that I got at the grocery store and it really turned out good Oh I didn't make the dumplings instead I put handful of broad noodles in
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Summerland, British Columbia, Canada
Living In: Ponoka, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2012
Excellent soup recipe. I cooked up a pound of stew meat with the carrots, onion and celery. I think the key is to cook it longer that 15-20 minutes. I let mine simmer for 2 hours. I also added some 1/4 t. of thyme and some parsley. I liked the dumplings in the soup, but I used 8 T. of flour. Like others said - use a good red wine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2011
This came out really great, but it does need some additions. I would just use egg noodles in place of the dumplings as others have suggested. I also used half the amount of wine. It also needed some salt, more garlic, and pepper. I also cooked the meat in a skillet with garlic and onion powder and threw everything in it, including the juices. It made it much more flavorful. This is a good starter recipe, just remember to taste as you go along and modify it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ilikefrenchies

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Photo by linda2d
Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2011
This had a very nice flavor. I was a little worried about equal parts tomato juice, wine and broth but it seemed to blend well. I used a cabernet, leftover roast & homemade stock and added a little beef base to compensate for the condensed flavor of the canned broth. There wasn't quite enough roast so I also added some lentils with the veggies (with extra water to cook them). I didn't make the dumplings because we don't care for them. I think in the future I would make the lentils standard for us as we really liked it this way.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by linda2d

Cooking Level: Intermediate


Displaying results 1-10 (of 49) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Easy Vegetable Beef Soup

See how to make a super-simple soup with veggies and ground beef.

Spicy Vietnamese Beef Noodle Soup

Chef John makes pho, the spicy Vietnamese noodle soup.

Beef Barley Vegetable Soup

A hearty beef and barley soup loaded with plenty of vegetables.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States