Beef and Walnut Stew Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by barbara
Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2011
tasted great! especially the nuts.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by barbara
Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2013
DEE-LICIOUS
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ardys

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Spring Grove, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Duluth, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2002
This is a great variation of beef stew. The walnuts add a little crunch, the flavor is fabulous and the meat was so tender. I thought the amount of mushrooms and walnuts seemed like a lot, so I used less, but I'm sure it's great either way. I would also recommend at least a 1/2 tsp. of pepper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2007
This recipe is WONDERFUL! The peppers may disintegrate (I made it twice...red peppers pretty much melted, green peppers held shape) but it doesn't change the great flavor of the recipe! 2lbs of chuck steak does not seem excessive to me (as noted by another reviewer) considering the recipe is for EIGHT servings.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2008
I really enjoyed this recipe and so did my kids. I did not have tomato juice, but I used an 8 oz can of tomato sauce and added water. I also served it over rice only because I thought my kids may enjoy it more.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2011
Great stew for a cold night. I substituted canned stewed tomatoes for the tomato juice and cut the walnut pieces small after roasting them slightly. After tucking into it, I realized that it would have been even more delicious if I had added a touch of red wine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2007
Really great flavor. That's a LOT of meat though in ratio to the other ingredients. So, 8 servings or 2 servings... this is A LOT of meat -- really less like a stew that I would eat straight out, and more like an entree that should be served over rice or something (to level out the meat overdose!)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Fountain Hills, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2008
We did not care for this. Too many walnuts gave it an off flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2012
Made as directed, adding other veggies and served over rice. We didn't care for it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RMSR

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2011
This was just okay. It lacked flavor and the walnuts didn't really add anything; wasn't crazy about the texture either. Definitely could have used more veggies to be considered a "stew" in our house.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 12) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Beef and Vegetable Stew

See how to make a hearty, low-fat beef stew.

Slow Cooker Beef Stew I

Make this five-star stew in your slow cooker!

Beef & Guinness Stew

Dark beer does delicious things to traditional beef stew.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States