Beef and Vegetable Stew Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2007
I think that this recipe was great although like many other people I did change it up a little I added about a 1/2 can of beer and I also didnt add the rosemary although I did add about a Tablespoon of ground tyme in there and also I left out the peas because I dont like them but I did add 2 stalks of celery! this recipe turned out great thanks so much
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 15, 2007
This was good, but not great. It was a little too tomato-y. I added a small amount of liquid smoke, and some red wine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BN61079

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Mendon, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Milford, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2007
I made this is the crockpot and it turned out beautifully. I thought a whole sprig of rosemary, however, was a little overpowering.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2006
This was a great stew recipe. I used a little more red pepper flakes to spice it up a bit more and used green beans instead of peas, wonderfull flavor!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Richfield, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Apple Valley, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2005
This recipe instantly earned 5 stars when my sister apologized to my mother, turned to me, and said, "this is the best beef stew i have ever had!" Of course, i made some considerable changes to suit my taste. I decided that beef stew needs wine, so in the 45 minute time period i added half a cup of marsala, and for the last 15 minutes (after the peas are added) i threw in about 1/4 cup of sherry. I used almost 2 pounds of beef, so i added more beef broth (about a cup more) and 2 tablespoons of extra tomato paste. The seasonings were also changed: no bay leaf, 1/4 teaspoon of dried rosemary in place of fresh, 1/2 tsp of adobo,the same amount of red pepper flakes, and almost a tsp of paprika. I left out the thyme.The secret ingredient to kicking up any dish was added: Goya Sazon seasoning. I also used canned mushrooms instead of fresh. Before cooking the meat in the oil, i cooked 2 chopped garlic cloves with extra garlic powder in it, then added the beef. I served it over egg noodles, but cooked it about 20 minutes longer- maybe more. It really came out delicious, but, as you see, i made a lot of changes, so i will only give it 4 stars (without them it wouldve been too bland).Will definitely make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
147 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by 2Yung2Cook

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2005
Easy and delicious! This one's a keeper =D
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2005
This wasn't what any of us really expected. Hubby and I both think it was the tomato paste. The red color threw us off and we're tomato eaters. We may just have not wanted stew that night.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2004
I'm giving this 4 stars because as the recipe is, I thought the stew was really bland (admittedly, I used dried herbs which probably made a difference). I added 3 beef bouillon cubes to make it beefier tasting, and also a splash of Worcestershire Sauce. I didn't want to dilute the flavor by adding water so I used a can of diced tomatoes. This made it much better. Definitely make this a day ahead of eating. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Caroline C

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Fort Lupton, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2004
Nice basic recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Kirkland, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2004
I really liked this stew. I made it very thick and it had a delicious flavor. I am vegetarian so I ommitted the meat and used a vegetarian beef broth. It was so delicious I am presently making an additional batch for some friends!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 91) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Beef and Vegetable Stew

See how to make a hearty, low-fat beef stew.

Slow Cooker Beef Stew I

Make this five-star stew in your slow cooker!

Easy Vegetable Beef Soup

See how to make a super-simple soup with veggies and ground beef.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States