Beef and Vegetable Stew Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2013
Great recipe, however it took an extra hour to fully cook.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Belleville, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Laurie
Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2012
It was OK, but it didn't taste like a traditional stew. The taste of the tomato paste didn't seem right and was too strong. Also, the potatoes and carrots should get extra time to cook.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2012
Yes, but I would leave out the thyme the next time .
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2012
I made this for my fiance and he loved it! I don't eat meat, so I made it without tasting it, but he raved about it. I followed the recipe as written except I left out the mushrooms, I used dried rosemary instead of fresh, and used a pinch of cayenne pepper instead of the red pepper flakes. I added about 1/4 cup of red wine, a couple shakes of garlic powder, and some black pepper, and it seemed a little thin after I added the potatoes and carrots, so I added 1 tbsp of four to thicken it. I'll definitely make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2012
I did not have rosemary & threw in some chopped celery + extra cup of beef broth. I wanted to spice up the tomato taste a bit more so I added a splash of Worcestershire sauce and the end result was SPECTACULAR Not bad at all and unique.!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2012
Bland
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2011
Just finished making and eating this. I didn't have any rosemary so I used oregano. It was very very good. We loved it. Will make this again soon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bastrop, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2011
Loved this, but I did add 1 more can of broth, some red wine, cracked black pepper, and 1 more potato. Very yummy and I will make it again!! Thank you!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2011
I've been wanting to cook with rosemary for a while, but I felt this wasn't the right recipe for it. If I were to prepare this recipe again, I would make some rice to put under the stew because the stew wasn't as thick as I wanted it to be. It's not likely that I'm going to make this again just because it wasn't the right flavor combination I wanted.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2011
This was a good recipe but I do have some complaints. First, the base of tomato paste and beef broth was not nearly enough for the amount of vegetables that were in the recipe. I had to add 5 cups of water, which, in turn made the sauce extremely thin. I incorporated some flour to make it thicker. I think next time I will either use more broth/paste and/or tomato sauce, or start with a rue. My second and main complaint is that the recipe was very bland. I added dried rosemary, more thyme, 3 tablespoons of whorechestersauce, 1 tablespoons of tabasco, and a good bit of fresh ground pepper. I also had to let it cook longer than called for to let the mushrooms really cook throughly. After the changes, it was pretty good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 95) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Grilled Burgers For the 4th
Grilled Burgers For the 4th

Check out our collection of almost 200 grilled burger recipes.

Potato Salad On the Side
Potato Salad On the Side

A cookout isn't complete without a big bowl of potato salad. We have hundreds for you.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Beef and Vegetable Stew

See how to make a hearty, low-fat beef stew.

Beef Barley Vegetable Soup

A hearty beef and barley soup loaded with plenty of vegetables.

Slow Cooker Beef Stew I

Make this five-star stew in your slow cooker!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States