Beef and Vegetable Stew Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2011
I've been wanting to cook with rosemary for a while, but I felt this wasn't the right recipe for it. If I were to prepare this recipe again, I would make some rice to put under the stew because the stew wasn't as thick as I wanted it to be. It's not likely that I'm going to make this again just because it wasn't the right flavor combination I wanted.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2011
This was a good recipe but I do have some complaints. First, the base of tomato paste and beef broth was not nearly enough for the amount of vegetables that were in the recipe. I had to add 5 cups of water, which, in turn made the sauce extremely thin. I incorporated some flour to make it thicker. I think next time I will either use more broth/paste and/or tomato sauce, or start with a rue. My second and main complaint is that the recipe was very bland. I added dried rosemary, more thyme, 3 tablespoons of whorechestersauce, 1 tablespoons of tabasco, and a good bit of fresh ground pepper. I also had to let it cook longer than called for to let the mushrooms really cook throughly. After the changes, it was pretty good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2010
Made exactly per the recipe, no substitutions were necessary. Don't tell my mother-in-law but my husband likes this recipe better than hers!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MJones

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2010
A pretty good beef stew. We made it just as the recipe says, but the rosemary flavor over powered everything and just didn't go well. We left it in for just a minute the next time and it was perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2010
I did have to add another cup of broth along with the carrots, and it still ended up thick. No other changes to the recipe, and we enjoyed it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2010
It was a hit - even with the person who claimed they didn't like "stew". I left all the seasonsings out except salt and pepper and did not include the mushrooms or peas; although I did add parsnips and almost twice as much beef stock. My suggestion would be to saute the onions before adding the tomato paste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2010
I kept this simple, but it gave me a good base to go off of. I didn't use any of the spices or the mushrooms since I didn't have them but I did add celery. I probably added 4 more cups of beef broth to this and it was perfect. Cooking the meat that long made our tougher beef round perfect. I added Worchestershire sauce but a shake or two would have been just right. I over did it and it was a little too strong. I rarely have recipes on her turn out fabulously whether I follow them or do my own thing so this was a great one for us.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2010
I agree with many of the other reviewers that this is a good base recipe that can be made delicious with a few extra ingredients. I added three minced garlic cloves when I sauteed the onions, and 3/4 cup of a dry red wine when I added the potatoes. Also, the potatoes took longer to cook than the recipe indicates, so I would recommend adding them 20 minutes earlier.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2010
awesome and very tasty recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2010
I love this recipe. It's very flavourful! Only one thing I added was a half cup of red wine. I'm sure I will make it many times during this winter!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AKIKO10028

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Nakano, Tokyo, Japan
Living In: New York, New York, USA

Displaying results 41-50 (of 87) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Best Thanksgiving Recipes
Best Thanksgiving Recipes

From the bird to the sides to the cranberry sauce and the pie, it's all here for you.

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Beef and Vegetable Stew

See how to make a hearty, low-fat beef stew.

Slow Cooker Beef Stew I

Make this five-star stew in your slow cooker!

Easy Vegetable Beef Soup

See how to make a super-simple soup with veggies and ground beef.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States