Beef and Vegetable Stew Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2005
This recipe instantly earned 5 stars when my sister apologized to my mother, turned to me, and said, "this is the best beef stew i have ever had!" Of course, i made some considerable changes to suit my taste. I decided that beef stew needs wine, so in the 45 minute time period i added half a cup of marsala, and for the last 15 minutes (after the peas are added) i threw in about 1/4 cup of sherry. I used almost 2 pounds of beef, so i added more beef broth (about a cup more) and 2 tablespoons of extra tomato paste. The seasonings were also changed: no bay leaf, 1/4 teaspoon of dried rosemary in place of fresh, 1/2 tsp of adobo,the same amount of red pepper flakes, and almost a tsp of paprika. I left out the thyme.The secret ingredient to kicking up any dish was added: Goya Sazon seasoning. I also used canned mushrooms instead of fresh. Before cooking the meat in the oil, i cooked 2 chopped garlic cloves with extra garlic powder in it, then added the beef. I served it over egg noodles, but cooked it about 20 minutes longer- maybe more. It really came out delicious, but, as you see, i made a lot of changes, so i will only give it 4 stars (without them it wouldve been too bland).Will definitely make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
107 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by 2Yung2Cook

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 11, 2001
This is definitly a Rosemary lover's meal ! I used 2 extra cans of beef broth and still all I could taste was the rosemary! I was hoping for a nice beef flavor (considering this is one of the only recipies here for beef stew that calls for beef broth), but it tasted like tomato sauce with tons of rosemary. I think next time , I will omit the tomato paste and use a little cornstarch to thicken it. Also, I will only use a 1/4 of the rosemary. But if you like rosemary, this is definitly the recipe for you !
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
50 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2001
Overall it was very tasty. Good dish for a cold foggy evening. Did not use the crushed red pepper flakes. And next time, we would reduce the rosemay. Suggest maybe using 1/2 rosemary sprig. The stew does get dry when reheating for leftovers. I would use this recipe again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
38 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2002
Everyone said this was good, even my picky son and his friend. I also added some potato flakes to thicken it up a little and used a few pinches of dried Rosemary in place of the fresh. I also added salt. Next time will cut back on the rosemary and thyme. Thank you Marianne for a great recipe and thanks to all the helpful reviews.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2001
Hearty soup...good for a cold day. Although, I didn't particularly like the tomato basted sauce and thought the rosemary sprig was too overpowering for the soup. Would suggest a little less rosemary.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2003
With any meat recipe I try, whether from a book or elsewhere, I always season [the meat] to taste and then follow directions accordingly, so I added a few more seasonings than called for (ex. garlic, sazon, adobe). I also added a tablespoon of sugar after adding the broth as this "kills" the bitterness of the tomatoes. All vegetables I used, including potatoes, were canned. Dish came out perfect and my children liked it as well... which is always a plus. :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Brooklyn, New York, USA
Living In: Red Lion, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2003
This was a delicious meal, and becouse it had potatoes in it, it was a complete meal. This is great on a rainy day,to warm you up.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2001
One of the best stew recipes I've tried yet - I added white cooking wine, extra red pepper and extra vegetables and we loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2001
It was a very easy recipe for someone in a hurry. I added a 1/2 cup of barley to it to make it a bit thicker. Overall what a wonderful and tastful recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2000
The first night there was not much flavor, but it was sooo good for leftovers. Let it sit overnight or so. I added a quarter cup of white wine to it. I served it over wide egg noodles and then another time I served it over bread. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 66) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

No-Fuss Party Food
No-Fuss Party Food

Easy recipes for summer get-togethers.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Beef and Vegetable Stew

See how to make a hearty, low-fat beef stew.

Slow Cooker Beef Stew I

Make this five-star stew in your slow cooker!

Easy Vegetable Beef Soup

See how to make a super-simple soup with veggies and ground beef.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States