Beef and Vegetable Stew Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2005
This recipe instantly earned 5 stars when my sister apologized to my mother, turned to me, and said, "this is the best beef stew i have ever had!" Of course, i made some considerable changes to suit my taste. I decided that beef stew needs wine, so in the 45 minute time period i added half a cup of marsala, and for the last 15 minutes (after the peas are added) i threw in about 1/4 cup of sherry. I used almost 2 pounds of beef, so i added more beef broth (about a cup more) and 2 tablespoons of extra tomato paste. The seasonings were also changed: no bay leaf, 1/4 teaspoon of dried rosemary in place of fresh, 1/2 tsp of adobo,the same amount of red pepper flakes, and almost a tsp of paprika. I left out the thyme.The secret ingredient to kicking up any dish was added: Goya Sazon seasoning. I also used canned mushrooms instead of fresh. Before cooking the meat in the oil, i cooked 2 chopped garlic cloves with extra garlic powder in it, then added the beef. I served it over egg noodles, but cooked it about 20 minutes longer- maybe more. It really came out delicious, but, as you see, i made a lot of changes, so i will only give it 4 stars (without them it wouldve been too bland).Will definitely make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
107 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by 2Yung2Cook

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 11, 2001
This is definitly a Rosemary lover's meal ! I used 2 extra cans of beef broth and still all I could taste was the rosemary! I was hoping for a nice beef flavor (considering this is one of the only recipies here for beef stew that calls for beef broth), but it tasted like tomato sauce with tons of rosemary. I think next time , I will omit the tomato paste and use a little cornstarch to thicken it. Also, I will only use a 1/4 of the rosemary. But if you like rosemary, this is definitly the recipe for you !
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
50 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2001
Overall it was very tasty. Good dish for a cold foggy evening. Did not use the crushed red pepper flakes. And next time, we would reduce the rosemay. Suggest maybe using 1/2 rosemary sprig. The stew does get dry when reheating for leftovers. I would use this recipe again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
38 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2002
Everyone said this was good, even my picky son and his friend. I also added some potato flakes to thicken it up a little and used a few pinches of dried Rosemary in place of the fresh. I also added salt. Next time will cut back on the rosemary and thyme. Thank you Marianne for a great recipe and thanks to all the helpful reviews.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2001
Hearty soup...good for a cold day. Although, I didn't particularly like the tomato basted sauce and thought the rosemary sprig was too overpowering for the soup. Would suggest a little less rosemary.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2003
With any meat recipe I try, whether from a book or elsewhere, I always season [the meat] to taste and then follow directions accordingly, so I added a few more seasonings than called for (ex. garlic, sazon, adobe). I also added a tablespoon of sugar after adding the broth as this "kills" the bitterness of the tomatoes. All vegetables I used, including potatoes, were canned. Dish came out perfect and my children liked it as well... which is always a plus. :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Brooklyn, New York, USA
Living In: Red Lion, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2003
This was a delicious meal, and becouse it had potatoes in it, it was a complete meal. This is great on a rainy day,to warm you up.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2001
One of the best stew recipes I've tried yet - I added white cooking wine, extra red pepper and extra vegetables and we loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2001
It was a very easy recipe for someone in a hurry. I added a 1/2 cup of barley to it to make it a bit thicker. Overall what a wonderful and tastful recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2000
The first night there was not much flavor, but it was sooo good for leftovers. Let it sit overnight or so. I added a quarter cup of white wine to it. I served it over wide egg noodles and then another time I served it over bread. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 66) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Beef and Vegetable Stew

See how to make a hearty, low-fat beef stew.

Easy Vegetable Beef Soup

See how to make a super-simple soup with veggies and ground beef.

Slow Cooker Beef Stew I

Make this five-star stew in your slow cooker!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States