Beef and Vegetable Stew Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2000
The first night there was not much flavor, but it was sooo good for leftovers. Let it sit overnight or so. I added a quarter cup of white wine to it. I served it over wide egg noodles and then another time I served it over bread. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2001
Very good stew. This is a very thick stew, rib stickin' & that's a "good thing". :-) I served it with homemade biscuits and it was an overall hit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: New Orleans, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Gainesville, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2001
I started it one night and finished it off the night of serving. It's a time consuming dish but it's not so bad if you break it up. Both my boyfriend and I enjoyed it. I'll make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lisa

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Wasaga Beach, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2001
Very Easy and Very Tasty ! I added a little more chrushed red pepper. Turned out excellent. My boyfriend, a talented cook, thought it was the best stew he'd ever tasted.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2001
It was a very easy recipe for someone in a hurry. I added a 1/2 cup of barley to it to make it a bit thicker. Overall what a wonderful and tastful recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2001
Hearty soup...good for a cold day. Although, I didn't particularly like the tomato basted sauce and thought the rosemary sprig was too overpowering for the soup. Would suggest a little less rosemary.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2001
Too tomatoey!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 11, 2001
This is definitly a Rosemary lover's meal ! I used 2 extra cans of beef broth and still all I could taste was the rosemary! I was hoping for a nice beef flavor (considering this is one of the only recipies here for beef stew that calls for beef broth), but it tasted like tomato sauce with tons of rosemary. I think next time , I will omit the tomato paste and use a little cornstarch to thicken it. Also, I will only use a 1/4 of the rosemary. But if you like rosemary, this is definitly the recipe for you !
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
69 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2001
Overall it was very tasty. Good dish for a cold foggy evening. Did not use the crushed red pepper flakes. And next time, we would reduce the rosemay. Suggest maybe using 1/2 rosemary sprig. The stew does get dry when reheating for leftovers. I would use this recipe again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
46 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2001
This is the best stew that I've ever tried. My boyfriend said it was awesome. I will use this recipe from now on.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 95) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Let the Slow Cooker Handle It
Let the Slow Cooker Handle It

The best wintertime meals need a long, slow simmer while you're doing something else.

Get Your Money's Worth
Get Your Money's Worth

Our big collection of budget recipes will leave some jingle in your pocket.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Beef and Vegetable Stew

See how to make a hearty, low-fat beef stew.

Beef Barley Vegetable Soup

A hearty beef and barley soup loaded with plenty of vegetables.

Slow Cooker Beef Stew I

Make this five-star stew in your slow cooker!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States