Beef and Vegetable Stew Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2009
This soup is very easy to make and very good. It's an easy recipe to change and make your own. I highly recomend it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2008
This dish was easy and tasty but too much rosemary--it was a little overpowering. We like our stew a little more spicy so next time I will probably add parsley instead of rosemary and some peppers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2008
This will be my default beef stew from now on!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Irmo, South Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2008
I thought this was pretty good. I did not the rosemary and only 1/2 the time. I also added a bit more water because it was too too thick....... and three bullion cubes for some added flavor. I thought this was an excellent base recipe perfect for adjustments!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2007
My family said that this was the best thing that I had ever made. ;) I used a potroast leftovers and subsitituted chicken broth for beef broth.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2007
I think that this recipe was great although like many other people I did change it up a little I added about a 1/2 can of beer and I also didnt add the rosemary although I did add about a Tablespoon of ground tyme in there and also I left out the peas because I dont like them but I did add 2 stalks of celery! this recipe turned out great thanks so much
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 15, 2007
This was good, but not great. It was a little too tomato-y. I added a small amount of liquid smoke, and some red wine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BN61079

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Mendon, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Milford, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2007
I made this is the crockpot and it turned out beautifully. I thought a whole sprig of rosemary, however, was a little overpowering.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2006
This was a great stew recipe. I used a little more red pepper flakes to spice it up a bit more and used green beans instead of peas, wonderfull flavor!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Richfield, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Apple Valley, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2005
This recipe instantly earned 5 stars when my sister apologized to my mother, turned to me, and said, "this is the best beef stew i have ever had!" Of course, i made some considerable changes to suit my taste. I decided that beef stew needs wine, so in the 45 minute time period i added half a cup of marsala, and for the last 15 minutes (after the peas are added) i threw in about 1/4 cup of sherry. I used almost 2 pounds of beef, so i added more beef broth (about a cup more) and 2 tablespoons of extra tomato paste. The seasonings were also changed: no bay leaf, 1/4 teaspoon of dried rosemary in place of fresh, 1/2 tsp of adobo,the same amount of red pepper flakes, and almost a tsp of paprika. I left out the thyme.The secret ingredient to kicking up any dish was added: Goya Sazon seasoning. I also used canned mushrooms instead of fresh. Before cooking the meat in the oil, i cooked 2 chopped garlic cloves with extra garlic powder in it, then added the beef. I served it over egg noodles, but cooked it about 20 minutes longer- maybe more. It really came out delicious, but, as you see, i made a lot of changes, so i will only give it 4 stars (without them it wouldve been too bland).Will definitely make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
107 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by 2Yung2Cook

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 66) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Beef and Vegetable Stew

See how to make a hearty, low-fat beef stew.

Easy Vegetable Beef Soup

See how to make a super-simple soup with veggies and ground beef.

Slow Cooker Beef Stew I

Make this five-star stew in your slow cooker!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States