Beef and Vegetable Stew Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2014
Use Original V-8 Juice for base. Also, add more vegetables , corn, Lima beans, green, etc.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2014
YES!!!! It was GREAT it was everything it said it would b. Tomato n woody I loved it on rice with a big hunk of bread n butter. Tk u Tk u ! It made me forget my diet he hee
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cheryl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Marion, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2014
Delicious! What a great meal. I added bell peppers, yams and corn on the cob wedges. Great flavors. Thanks Marianne for a wonderful meal!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Soup Lover-Sue

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chino, California, USA
Living In: San Clemente, California, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2014
I love the basic recipe. I prefer cubed sirloin steak for my beef and fresh green beans in place of peas.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2014
The is a second rate recipe .... like most other s that have a vidio
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2014
I doubled the recipe, so I'd have leftovers to freeze for a quick dinner. I seasoned my beef stew meat with salt and pepper, before browning. The first thing I noticed there was no garlic, I can't cook without garlic, so I added about 1 Tbls. minced garlic with the onions. I always add tomato paste to my stew, but only about 2 Tbls., but I added 2-6 oz cans since I was doubling the recipe. When I added the beef back in, I realized this is normally where I add my seasoning/herbs, so I added salt, pepper, the rosemary, thyme and red pepper flakes here, rather than later. I added 3-cups of homemade beef stock and 1 cup red wine. The addition of the red wine just seemed a natural fit. Everything else I left alone. While it was good, it had too much tomato paste in it for me. The use of the red pepper flakes was interesting, but I'm not sure I'd use it again. While I like rosemary and thyme, the stew was predominately rosemary flavored. I'd cut back on the rosemary. I also needed to thicken the stew at the end with some beurre manie, to create a thicker gravy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Tacoma, Washington, USA
Living In: Federal Way, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2014
My family loved this stew. Wonderful..... Make it you won't be sorry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Noblesville, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2014
Unfortunately I did not have Rosemary or thyme, and my boyfriend doesn't like mushrooms or tomato paste, so I was forced to tweak the recipe. I kept all other ingredients the same, and seasoned the beef first and it came out great! I started with a roux to replace the tomato paste, and added some chopped tomato to keep the flavor in. I also added the potato and carrots in earlier to give them more time to cook. This is great as a thinner broth for a more soup like feel, or a thicker broth to put over rice. Would make again~
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2014
Was a very easy and very good recipe. My husband not a tomato fan and he had no problem with the tomato base. Did not add the crush red pepper, but will add it next time for more flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2014
I've made this twice and both times my picky father said it was the best stew he's ever had. That's something coming from a 96 year old that thinks no one can cook anything better than his mother. The only changes I made was to use a handful of little red potatoes instead of regular potatoes and fresh green beans instead of peas. I put the green beans in at the same time as the potatoes which I cut in half. The herbs and seasonings were just fine. Just watch how big a sprig of rosemary you use, and if the bay leaves are small, throw in an extra.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Gulf Breeze, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 95) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Celebrate Spring Salads
Celebrate Spring Salads

The most-tender new vegetables are here just in time for early spring salads!

Hearty Potato Soups
Hearty Potato Soups

Creamy, comforting potato soups will warm you up.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Beef and Vegetable Stew

See how to make a hearty, low-fat beef stew.

Beef Barley Vegetable Soup

A hearty beef and barley soup loaded with plenty of vegetables.

Slow Cooker Beef Stew I

Make this five-star stew in your slow cooker!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States