Beef and Spinach Curry Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2014
Pretty good dish. I made a couple changes but the spirit was the same. I used stewing beef and rather than spinach I used yellow chard because that's what I had. I've had spinach in stew before and it cooks down so much. I like the heartiness of the chard in the mix. I also doubled the spice~personal preference. Stayed on simmer for 4 hours and the beef fell apart. Awesome. Thanks so much jane Gibraltar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Volleyballmom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2013
Delicious! I used stewing beef and simmered for 2 hours... didn't change anything else. Super yummy!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2013
Make without Serrano peppers b/c I didn't have any - wasn't near hot enough (needed more seasoning).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2013
Made this just as written, except I used stew beef and no peppers because I didn't have any and I was trying to make it more kid-friendly. This was really good, although quite mild without the peppers (perfectly since the kids ate it). When I make this again, which I certainly WILL make again, I will wait to add the spinach until I've simmered the meat to the perfect tenderness -the stew meat turned out a little chewy when only simmered for 20 mins. Thanks for my first, homemade curry dish! It was a success!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2013
Needs more spinach, less tomato, but is otherwise divine. I totally recommend using all fresh ingredients.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 17, 2012
This had terrific flavor - I also used a crockpot and after browning the meat (stew beef) in butter (did not use clarified) I just added everything into the pot without browning the onion first. Cooked on low for 5 hours. The only thing I would do differently next time is add the spinach in the last 10 minutes, rather than last hour, to retain the bright green color, but no one complained. Also I served this with sherachi sauce on the table so everyone could get the heat they wanted. Really good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2012
Excellent on rice. I made it with ham instead of beef- superb.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2012
Excellent .... made just as directed. Served with rice. I also used drink recommendation for Moscow Mule & it was perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2012
Great recipe! Made some small changes because I was missing some ingredients. Didn't have serrano peppers, so used 1 poblano. Added some cayenne pepper and tobasco to make up for the mild pepper. Used cut up chuck roast and simmered it a bit longer to tenderize it. Boyfriend loved it. Going to try it with chicken or lamb next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2012
The spices in this is not quite enough... I had to add more of everything to make it stronger. I also added some cayenne pepper and curry powder to add some kick to this dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by merlion

Cooking Level: Beginning


Displaying results 1-10 (of 36) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Joe's Special Beef and Spinach Scramble

See how to make a classic San Francisco ground beef and spinach scramble.

Slow Cooker Red Curry Beef Pot Roast

See how to make a red curry pot roast in your slow cooker.

Spicy Orange Zest Beef

See how to make a healthier version of orange beef.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States