Beef and Roasted Red Pepper Sandwiches Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2008
I simply use left over London Broil or roast beef that I simply slice it very thin. Actually I always prepare a BIGGER london broil or roast beef specifically for this next meal. I sautee fresh sweet peppers (red, green, orange, each, all...whatever I have on hand) and onion slices in butter, remove those, add the thin sliced beef and just a bit of au jus to simply warm the meat. Sometimes I use a baquette I've cut down into 6" portions, other times I buy individual rolls. I slice them open, careful not to slice all the way through, then I scoop out the excess bread (leaving a bread shell that opens like a clamshell). I spread a thin layer of horseradish, stuff it with the warmed beef, top that with the sauteed onions and pepper, then place a layer of cheese over the top. I've used, swiss, mozzarella, and pepper jack - we love them all. The sandwich then goes on a baking sheet and into a medium oven for the cheese to melt and the bread to crisp (keep an eye on it, it doesn't take long!), then serve with au jus. Buy the best au jus mix you can. To fancy it up substitute wine or brandy for SOME of the water.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Cleveland, Ohio, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2005
"Slice the rolls open, and place sliced side up on a baking sheet."...is what the recipe says. So yes, it's like leaving open-faced. A torpedo roll, hoagie roll, submarine roll, cheesesteak roll, long roll...I guess it's a regional thing, sorry. Anyway, since the roll is buried under all the topping....it doesn't get a chance to burn.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KELT

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Audubon, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2006
Super quick, easy and delicious! Left out the garlic powder but other than that what a nice sandwich. I didn't think the hubby would like it with the red peppers but he qwolfed it down. Definitely, a nice fix for when I am in a hurry and still want something yummy. I didn't need anything else to go with it, the sandwich was so filling.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Belleville, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Winchester, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2005
Torpedo rolls are rolls... shaped like a torpedo. I tend to prefer doing this kind of sandwich on baguettes -- better stuff-to-bread ratio, and, well, I love their crustiness. If your cheese isn't melting, try leaving it out on the counter for a while so it starts at room temperature. If your slices (of any cheese) start out too cold sometimes you can have the edges altogether melted while the middles aren't even soft. Also, this kind of provalone may or may not get gooey when it's melted -- that's mozzarella's job, after all. This cheese should be warm and soft, ideally. (Unrated because I didn't actually make this, but if I DID make it I'd probably add a bit oregano.)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2006
Very easy, very good. Perfect for a quick weeknight supper without the hassle. Added some oregano - very good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2010
My hubby is not too kean on store bought deli roast beef so I purposely bought a 4 lb prime rib and cooked it traditionally on Sunday with that being the Sunday meal for hubby and I. We made a bit extra ajus and save a good bit of the meat and ajus to make these sandwiches. On Tuesday I sliced the remaining meat as thin as I could and added to the ajus in a pan. I let it slow simmer for about 1/2 and hour and then assembled the sandwiches as per the recipe. They came out really good and was a nice change. Will make again but probably only when we do a rib as indicated above.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Milford, New Hampshire, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2006
This is one of our favorites for a quick dinner!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Waynesboro, Mississippi, USA
Living In: Columbia, South Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2006
This is a great sandwich. Toasting it under the broiler makes it just perfect. I will definitely be adding this one to the rotation!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2010
Really good! Used leftover prime rib and husband thought I was a chef! Thanks for an easy and tasty recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2008
This was a quick and tasty recipe. I used french rolls (easy to find at the grocery store) and swiss cheese (my boyfriends favorite), and a whole jar of roasted red peppers. I added a little fresh garlic, oregano, salt and pepper to the au jus..YUMMY! I will definitely make this again!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 49) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Italian Beef Sandwiches

See how to make tender Italian beef sandwiches with au jus.

Barbecue Beef for Sandwiches

See how to make spicy, saucy, shredded barbecued beef.

Slow Cooker Italian Beef for Sandwiches

Make this great Italian beef for sandwiches in your slow cooker.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States