Beef and Roasted Red Pepper Sandwiches Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2008
My husband and I learned to make a similar version of this 30 years ago when we worked together in a little college tavern in Indiana. Then, we made it from scratch. Today, we buy sliced roast beef from the deli, and make a broth from beef soup base, minced garlic, oregano, thyme and pepper, and we simmer sliced onions, red and green pepper slices until the vegetables are cooked, then stir in the beef and simmer until hot. Provolone or mozzarella slices are great and don't forget to top the sandwich with banana pepper slices and hot sauce! It's the perfect Super Bowl sandwich!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Therese Cooks in St. Pete

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Warsaw, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2008
My alternations made it a 5* for me. I used marble rye and pesto. Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2008
I simply use left over London Broil or roast beef that I simply slice it very thin. Actually I always prepare a BIGGER london broil or roast beef specifically for this next meal. I sautee fresh sweet peppers (red, green, orange, each, all...whatever I have on hand) and onion slices in butter, remove those, add the thin sliced beef and just a bit of au jus to simply warm the meat. Sometimes I use a baquette I've cut down into 6" portions, other times I buy individual rolls. I slice them open, careful not to slice all the way through, then I scoop out the excess bread (leaving a bread shell that opens like a clamshell). I spread a thin layer of horseradish, stuff it with the warmed beef, top that with the sauteed onions and pepper, then place a layer of cheese over the top. I've used, swiss, mozzarella, and pepper jack - we love them all. The sandwich then goes on a baking sheet and into a medium oven for the cheese to melt and the bread to crisp (keep an eye on it, it doesn't take long!), then serve with au jus. Buy the best au jus mix you can. To fancy it up substitute wine or brandy for SOME of the water.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Cleveland, Ohio, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2008
This was a quick and tasty recipe. I used french rolls (easy to find at the grocery store) and swiss cheese (my boyfriends favorite), and a whole jar of roasted red peppers. I added a little fresh garlic, oregano, salt and pepper to the au jus..YUMMY! I will definitely make this again!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2008
Wow... Delisious. What a great way to use leftoveer roast beef. I had it as the recipe was written and it was wonderful. The next day I tried my own variation with hot peppers and cheddar cheese- great as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Roberta Schoonings

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2008
My husband says this is a "sellable sandwich"! We both loved it! I made it just the way the recipe reads and wouldn't change a thing. This will be a new staple meal in our house.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2008
These were ok, but a little bland. I gave this 4-stars instead of 3, since I used regular Provolone, rather than the sharp kind. A little pesto or dijon mustard would probably have taken care of the problem. I did come up with a great alternative for the au jus, though. I used 1/4 cup beef broth, 2 TBSP olive oil, and some garlic powder, and this mixture worked great for soaking the beef. It probably wouldn't cut it as a dipping sauce, but did a great job of making sure the beef was moist and juicy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2008
How can ANYONE screw this up! Recipes is easy to read and follow. I used Mozzorella instead only because I don't like provolone. Otherwise mmm good!! Thanks for recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2007
Has become a favourite for my wife and I.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Keith

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2006
Super quick, easy and delicious! Left out the garlic powder but other than that what a nice sandwich. I didn't think the hubby would like it with the red peppers but he qwolfed it down. Definitely, a nice fix for when I am in a hurry and still want something yummy. I didn't need anything else to go with it, the sandwich was so filling.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Anna K. Crossley

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Belleville, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Winchester, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 51) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

A Day To Remember
A Day To Remember

Memorial Day is a time to get together with friends and family for food, fun, and memories.

Potato Salad
Potato Salad

Nothing beats a big bowl of cool, creamy potato salad at your cookout.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Italian Beef Sandwiches

See how to make tender Italian beef sandwiches with au jus.

Barbecue Beef for Sandwiches

See how to make spicy, saucy, shredded barbecued beef.

Slow Cooker Italian Beef for Sandwiches

Make this great Italian beef for sandwiches in your slow cooker.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States