Beef and Rice Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2015
This comes together so easily and begs for tweaks if you are so inclined. It is perfectly yummy on its own as is but I have made it a second time now adding in small peas and scallions. A childhood fav for my hubby, he was looking for the plate with the bread and butter cut in half like his mom use to make.. This is a tasty and comforting dish that you can have on the table with very few ingredients.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ellie
Home Town: Kingston, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Courtice, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2015
My husband and I loved this recipe. We left out the rice seasoning and added a can of beans and some taco seasoning. Great recipe for when there's not much to work with in the house.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2015
My parents made this a lot when I was a kid. They always added a can of peas to it and we ate it with bread and butter also. I still make it without the peas mixed in (peas on the side due to picky eaters)and sometimes add green chilies and salsa with cheese and sour cream on top. I also make the chicken rice a roni with chunks of b/s chicken breast. It is so versatile, it would be great for a beginner cook to make and add to their taste!!! Great comfort food!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Topeka, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2014
This is the first meal my husband prepared for me 28 years ago. In addition to the beef rice-a-roni and hamburger he added two cans of drained but seasoned black-eyed peas to the pot. It makes an easy but filling weekend dinner.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2014
it was pretty good especially when you have nothing in your kitched!. my daughter loved it! I used the chicken and broccoli rice a roni. Also, when I cooked my ground beef I added a little worrcestershire sauce with it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2013
Was a nice, enjoyable simple meal. My family loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bethany Burgess

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2013
Good, simple food. Worked in a pinch when I didnt have much in the house. I reduced the time to 20 minutes and it was definitely done, so i would probably add more water next time if I did this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Arizona Desert Flower
Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2013
Surprisingly, it wasn't as salty as I thought it would be. I used the Garlic Chicken Vermicelli mix from Rice A Roni. Added a bit of onion, just because I had it. Could easily be spiced up with some salsa and cheese, or have some frozen vegetables added to do a one pot meal. Kids really liked it with a sprinkle of cheese--we adults used some crumbled feta. This won't be used often, but will be kept for our 'two days before payday' meal. Simple and filling!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Arizona Desert Flower

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Phoenix, Arizona, USA
Living In: Tempe, Arizona, USA


 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chocolate Chip Cookies
Chocolate Chip Cookies

Have you made a batch lately? They're everybody's favorite.

Spring Salads
Spring Salads

Freshening up the salad menu for spring has never been so delicious.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Beef and Rice Stuffed Bell Peppers

This simple technique makes stuffed peppers even more delicious.

Beef Tips

See how to make saucy, melt-in-your mouth beef tips.

How to Make Corned Beef and Cabbage

See how to make the official meal of St. Patrick’s Day.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States