Beef and Rice Medley Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2005
I loved this! I found it to be creamy and comforting. I did a few things differently. I used brown rice. So I cooked it by itself (1c. nishiki brown rice + 2 1/2 c water) for 30 minutes. Than I put it with the meat for 15 minutes together. By then it was more than ready for the tomatoes. I used one 10 oz. can of diced tomatoes and green chillis. This took care of any blandness others may have found. I used one 8 oz. block of monterey jack cheese that I shredded. I mixed it in a little while it was melting so it made it really creamy. This was EXCELLANT! I love it! The only problem I have is that the kids (5,4,2) didn't like it but the baby (1) did. Go figure. If my husband were here it would be gone. This made more than enough for a family of six.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JLLEBOW

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Medford, Oregon, USA
Living In: Pearl City, Hawaii, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2008
This is a good base recipe. Made it a couple of time but made changes. 1st time used beef broth instead of cube, added garlic(crushed or powder), frozen chopped onions, frozen mixed bell peppers, Italian seasonings and mix Italian cheeses from bag I had in house. 2nd time used same frozen vegies and garlic but added cumin and a bit of chipolte chili powder, half can of left over, drained, black beans and topped with shredded Mexican 4 cheeses. Was very good both ways. Husband wants to try it without bell peppers but add mushrooms and fresh spinach(2 of his favorite foods).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Union City, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2003
My whole family loves this recipe- quick to make, yummy to eat!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2002
This is a quick, easy, delicious meal with minimal kitchen clean-up. My husband loved it and requested I cook it again next week.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2002
This recipe was a good starting point, although a little bland for my family. I added a little garlic powder and onion powder. It didn't look so good, but it tasted delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2004
Very good, and very filling
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2005
Excellent dish!! Everyone loved...my son added corn to it as well though we didn't add the cheese. Quick, easy and a winner!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2005
I made this recipe for a potluck at work, but used Pepper jack cheese in place of the mozzarella...and it was great! It was such a hit, that I'm using it for Bunco night as well!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2006
Yummm, I did the recommended 2 bouilon cubes and used uncle bens original recipe wild rice, was scrumpish, but you definitely need to use the one cube per cup of water for bouilon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2007
My husband loved this. He doesn't like canned tomatoes so I added red pepper along with the green. Also when cooking the beef I added a Lot of Worshestshire sauce, and "beef base" as oppossed to the boullion. He's been asking for this every night since...It was a hit!!! Thank you!!! : )
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by WILLANDJENN2004

Cooking Level: Expert


Displaying results 1-10 (of 54) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Beef and Rice Stuffed Bell Peppers

This simple technique makes stuffed peppers even more delicious.

Slow-Braised Beef and Cherry Tomato Sauce

Watch Chef John prepare a sensational long-simmering meat sauce.

How to Make Corned Beef and Cabbage

See how to make the official meal of St. Patrick’s Day.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States