Beef and Rice Medley Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2006
My family has made a version of this my whole life. Here is the most important key to getting flavor into this dish- ALWAYS ALWAYS match the bouillon to the water. If it calls for 2c water add two cubes and so forth. Even if you add nothing else remember the bouillon. Here are some other tips: Depending on your taste try adding drained black or green olives. You can add alittle jalepeno pepper to give it some zip. Any flavored cheese works with this-So what ever mood you are in cheese it up that way and add your own spices. Over all it is one of those recipes that allows variety. It is a great base to start with and a great way to introduce cassaroles to the kids. They simply love it due to the cheese.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
33 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Elm Hall, Michigan, USA
Living In: Carrollton, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2005
I loved this! I found it to be creamy and comforting. I did a few things differently. I used brown rice. So I cooked it by itself (1c. nishiki brown rice + 2 1/2 c water) for 30 minutes. Than I put it with the meat for 15 minutes together. By then it was more than ready for the tomatoes. I used one 10 oz. can of diced tomatoes and green chillis. This took care of any blandness others may have found. I used one 8 oz. block of monterey jack cheese that I shredded. I mixed it in a little while it was melting so it made it really creamy. This was EXCELLANT! I love it! The only problem I have is that the kids (5,4,2) didn't like it but the baby (1) did. Go figure. If my husband were here it would be gone. This made more than enough for a family of six.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JLLEBOW

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Medford, Oregon, USA
Living In: Pearl City, Hawaii, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 19, 2011
As others have said, this is a good base recipe to build on. As written it seems bland. However, I followed the steps for the most part and tweaked it to my own taste. Here is what I did: Sauteed diced onion and red bell pepper in a little oil until tender (not translucent, but tender ... about three minutes), added in ground turkey (because that is what I had on hand), browned it until done, added the water and three chicken bouillon cubes (you should always use one cube per cup of water, but I added in three cubes since I didn't know how to halve one), added the rice, a can of diced tomatoes, and then black pepper, a little seasoning salt, a tad bit of celery salt, some garlic powder and onion powder, and let it simmer for about 30 minutes (until most of the liquid had soaked into everything). Then I poured everything into a baking dish, covered it with torn up pepperjack cheese slices and put it in the oven on 350 for about 10 minutes (long enough for the cheese to melt). BOY! WAS THIS GOOD. I served it with salad. Again, I think this recipe, as written, would be extremely bland unless you like bland food. For those of us who like full flavor and that "kick", you definitely need to take it up a notch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Married_Lady

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Portland, Oregon, USA
Living In: Fort Worth, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2006
I really liked this recipe, because it was so easy to make and required little clean up, I added some chili peppers, basil and spike for seasoning, and a can of crispy corn, also I left out the cheese, my five year old loved it, and because I love hot and spicy, i added some hot pepper sauce to my bowl, yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2002
This is a quick, easy, delicious meal with minimal kitchen clean-up. My husband loved it and requested I cook it again next week.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2002
This recipe was a good starting point, although a little bland for my family. I added a little garlic powder and onion powder. It didn't look so good, but it tasted delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2006
Extremely bland
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Katie

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2006
This was very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Blackwood, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Blacklick, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2005
Excellent dish!! Everyone loved...my son added corn to it as well though we didn't add the cheese. Quick, easy and a winner!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2007
I read the previous reviews and made the commom changes: no peppers, but I added Worcestershire sauce, lots of salt, pepper, garlic powder, and corn. I also used Southwestern diced tomatoes. I waited for my family's response as I RARELY make a new dish. We served it in bowls and garnished with grated cheddar cheese. It was a huge hit! My hubby ended up putting his in a taco shell with sour cream and taco sauce! I love that I have something easy and new. My oldest daughter is always looking for potluck dishes to take in to work, I can't wait to share this with her. Maybe not BEST, but surely DARN GOOD.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tracy K

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 55) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Beef and Rice Stuffed Bell Peppers

This simple technique makes stuffed peppers even more delicious.

How to Cook Corned Beef and Cabbage

Watch how to make this traditional St. Patrick’s Day dish.

How to Make Corned Beef and Cabbage

See how to make the official meal of St. Patrick’s Day.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States