Beef and Rice Medley Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2010
This is a great base to work with. I have been playing with quiche and cottage cheese lately, so I added about 1/2 c of non fat cottage cheese to it when I added the rice. Gave it a cheesy creamy texture. Substituted frozen french cut green beans for green pepper. I had great grass fed organic beef to work with so it was delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MomBrau

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Culver City, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2010
Super yummy one-pan meal. I used brown rice, which increased the cooking time, and also added taco seasoning and substituted pepper-jack cheese for the mozzerella. It was a hit with the hubby!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bethesda, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2010
EXCELLENT!! I did not alter the recipe because I don't believe in doing that. I made it exactly to recipe and it was quick, easy and fantastic!! Found it by searching with ingredients I had available and this popped up!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2010
I think this is the first time I've made a recipe from this site and didn't read other reviews first. I just did my own thing with it. I didn't have green pepper, so I added frozen corn. It also seemed like it would be bland, so I added some chili powder. Not enough, it was still kind of bland. I served this in tortilla shells with cheese.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 1, 2010
Good, quick and easy. Added a few cloves of garlic and can of corn. Shorted water to 2 cups and added a little V8. Tomato sauce or paste would probably be better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2010
This was a little bland, so I kicked it up a notch with some season all, also I think next time I will use cheddar cheese instead. My family did love this after I put in some more seasoning. This was a nice way to replace stuffed bell peppers, a lot less work. Thanks so much!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Theresa
Living In: Albany, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2010
A good one-dish family meal for a weeknight. Easy enough to tweak flavors to suit personal preferences.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by emsderfer

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2009
I will try this again. I used 1.5 cups of brown rice, with 3 cups of water and increased the simmer time to 40 minutes. I'll add another 5 minutes next time. i used orange bell pepper and chopped tomatoe fresh from the garden. With a little tweaking I think this could be a good main dish recipe for our family
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2008
My family enjoyed this meal. I used 1.5# ground beef and doubled the rice. I used beef broth straight from the can (ended up using about 3 cans altogether). I did add quite a bit of black pepper, it just seemed to fit with the flavors. It was nice to just put a lid on it and let it do all the work. Will definitely make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lsimon99

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2008
This is a good base recipe. Made it a couple of time but made changes. 1st time used beef broth instead of cube, added garlic(crushed or powder), frozen chopped onions, frozen mixed bell peppers, Italian seasonings and mix Italian cheeses from bag I had in house. 2nd time used same frozen vegies and garlic but added cumin and a bit of chipolte chili powder, half can of left over, drained, black beans and topped with shredded Mexican 4 cheeses. Was very good both ways. Husband wants to try it without bell peppers but add mushrooms and fresh spinach(2 of his favorite foods).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Union City, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 54) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Food on Fire
Food on Fire

Find out what to cook for your next BBQ.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Beef and Rice Stuffed Bell Peppers

This simple technique makes stuffed peppers even more delicious.

Slow-Braised Beef and Cherry Tomato Sauce

Watch Chef John prepare a sensational long-simmering meat sauce.

How to Make Corned Beef and Cabbage

See how to make the official meal of St. Patrick’s Day.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States