Beef and Rice Medley Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2011
Good basic recipe, needed more seasoning which was an easy fix. Once adjustments were made (garlic, celery salt, thyme, and more black pepper added) it was quite good. I didn't have mozzerella so I used sharp cheddar. I served corn bread as a side and everyone gobbled it up.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by busymommy

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 19, 2011
As others have said, this is a good base recipe to build on. As written it seems bland. However, I followed the steps for the most part and tweaked it to my own taste. Here is what I did: Sauteed diced onion and red bell pepper in a little oil until tender (not translucent, but tender ... about three minutes), added in ground turkey (because that is what I had on hand), browned it until done, added the water and three chicken bouillon cubes (you should always use one cube per cup of water, but I added in three cubes since I didn't know how to halve one), added the rice, a can of diced tomatoes, and then black pepper, a little seasoning salt, a tad bit of celery salt, some garlic powder and onion powder, and let it simmer for about 30 minutes (until most of the liquid had soaked into everything). Then I poured everything into a baking dish, covered it with torn up pepperjack cheese slices and put it in the oven on 350 for about 10 minutes (long enough for the cheese to melt). BOY! WAS THIS GOOD. I served it with salad. Again, I think this recipe, as written, would be extremely bland unless you like bland food. For those of us who like full flavor and that "kick", you definitely need to take it up a notch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Married_Lady

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Portland, Oregon, USA
Living In: Fort Worth, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 12, 2011
Great base recipe. I doubled the rice because I felt like the beef to rice ratio was a little off. I also used beef broth instead of the boullion because I didn't have any. I added garlic powder and a touch of cumin and cayenne to give it some kick. Overall really quick and easy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by heatherkillgore

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Jacksonville, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2011
I sauteed the diced onions with a tsp of minced garlic then added the meat and seasoned with salt, pepper, onion powder and garlic powder. Then added in the dry rice, while I heated the water and bouillon. Then added to meat mixture. After 25 mins on simmer I divided the meat mixture into two pans as I didn't want to waste it all in case I didn't like the end product. I added a can of mushroom soup to one pan. Yum! The other I added in the can of tomatoes and mixed in some italian cheese blend. It was good as well. Would def make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2010
This is a great base to work with. I have been playing with quiche and cottage cheese lately, so I added about 1/2 c of non fat cottage cheese to it when I added the rice. Gave it a cheesy creamy texture. Substituted frozen french cut green beans for green pepper. I had great grass fed organic beef to work with so it was delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MomBrau

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Culver City, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2010
Super yummy one-pan meal. I used brown rice, which increased the cooking time, and also added taco seasoning and substituted pepper-jack cheese for the mozzerella. It was a hit with the hubby!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bethesda, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2010
EXCELLENT!! I did not alter the recipe because I don't believe in doing that. I made it exactly to recipe and it was quick, easy and fantastic!! Found it by searching with ingredients I had available and this popped up!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2010
I think this is the first time I've made a recipe from this site and didn't read other reviews first. I just did my own thing with it. I didn't have green pepper, so I added frozen corn. It also seemed like it would be bland, so I added some chili powder. Not enough, it was still kind of bland. I served this in tortilla shells with cheese.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 1, 2010
Good, quick and easy. Added a few cloves of garlic and can of corn. Shorted water to 2 cups and added a little V8. Tomato sauce or paste would probably be better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2010
This was a little bland, so I kicked it up a notch with some season all, also I think next time I will use cheddar cheese instead. My family did love this after I put in some more seasoning. This was a nice way to replace stuffed bell peppers, a lot less work. Thanks so much!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Theresa
Living In: Albany, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 58) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Crunchy Kale Snacks
Crunchy Kale Snacks

Kale is the healthy, green leaf that transforms into a crunchy snack chip in your oven.

So Many Pork Chop Recipes
So Many Pork Chop Recipes

You can't go wrong choosing from over 400 pork chop recipes with ratings and tips!

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Beef and Rice Stuffed Bell Peppers

This simple technique makes stuffed peppers even more delicious.

How to Cook Corned Beef and Cabbage

Watch how to make this traditional St. Patrick’s Day dish.

How to Make Corned Beef and Cabbage

See how to make the official meal of St. Patrick’s Day.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States