Beef and Rice Medley Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2013
This was really good. I followed JLLEBOW's modifications as I had brown rice too. I used roasted tomatoes with green chili but no green pepper. Still turned out great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2013
This is good if you don't have much time to prepare dinner, but it's quite bland. Definately need to add to it for flavor, plus I'm not sure why but my rice took a lot longer then the directions to cook in this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 19, 2013
I had ground elk and rice already cooked and in the refrigerator. I sautéed a whole onion and maybe half a green pepper. The green pepper was already diced and in the freezer. I added the canned tomatoes and a can of button mushrooms, halved. It looked a little dry and since my Mother, who is on chemo, is not tolerating cheese right now, I added a can of cream of mushroom soup. Mixed it all, baked at 350F for 20 minutes. Added shredded cheddar on half and baked another 10. I loved it. It had a taste reminiscent of hamburger pie. I would have made it spicier but i was trying to find something Mother will eat. She ate it okay but unfortunately nothing tastes very good to her now.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BAJUNKIN

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Guin, Alabama, USA
Living In: Pell City, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2012
I didn't have beef bouillon, so I left it out and only used half can of diced tomatoes. and used all kinds of seasonings. YUM! we loved it. Very delicious! Easy to make and we can't get over how good it is! Thank you for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2012
I have made this a few times now. I just add some cumin, paprika, and sometimes some italian seasoning. Now and then when we want it spicy I will throw in some jalepeno peppers. It's a great recipe because you can alter it to fit your tastes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by celestialalyce

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lake Village, Indiana, USA
Living In: Irving, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by amandak23k
Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2011
I'm giving this recipe 5 stars, because it was really good, easy to make, and cheap!! This was my first time finally not using instant rice in a recipe. This turned out great, the rice was cooked. I changed things up just a little bit for what I had on hand. I used a can of beef broth and an 8 oz can of tomato sauce in place of the seasoned water and diced tomatoes. I did cover the pan (used to doing that with instant rice) while it was simmering and I added the tomato sauce when I added the beef broth. Very good topped with sour cream, salsa, lettuce and tomatoes!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by amandak23k

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2011
Good basic recipe, needed more seasoning which was an easy fix. Once adjustments were made (garlic, celery salt, thyme, and more black pepper added) it was quite good. I didn't have mozzerella so I used sharp cheddar. I served corn bread as a side and everyone gobbled it up.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 19, 2011
As others have said, this is a good base recipe to build on. As written it seems bland. However, I followed the steps for the most part and tweaked it to my own taste. Here is what I did: Sauteed diced onion and red bell pepper in a little oil until tender (not translucent, but tender ... about three minutes), added in ground turkey (because that is what I had on hand), browned it until done, added the water and three chicken bouillon cubes (you should always use one cube per cup of water, but I added in three cubes since I didn't know how to halve one), added the rice, a can of diced tomatoes, and then black pepper, a little seasoning salt, a tad bit of celery salt, some garlic powder and onion powder, and let it simmer for about 30 minutes (until most of the liquid had soaked into everything). Then I poured everything into a baking dish, covered it with torn up pepperjack cheese slices and put it in the oven on 350 for about 10 minutes (long enough for the cheese to melt). BOY! WAS THIS GOOD. I served it with salad. Again, I think this recipe, as written, would be extremely bland unless you like bland food. For those of us who like full flavor and that "kick", you definitely need to take it up a notch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Married_Lady

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Portland, Oregon, USA
Living In: Fort Worth, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 12, 2011
Great base recipe. I doubled the rice because I felt like the beef to rice ratio was a little off. I also used beef broth instead of the boullion because I didn't have any. I added garlic powder and a touch of cumin and cayenne to give it some kick. Overall really quick and easy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by heatherkillgore

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Jacksonville, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2011
I sauteed the diced onions with a tsp of minced garlic then added the meat and seasoned with salt, pepper, onion powder and garlic powder. Then added in the dry rice, while I heated the water and bouillon. Then added to meat mixture. After 25 mins on simmer I divided the meat mixture into two pans as I didn't want to waste it all in case I didn't like the end product. I added a can of mushroom soup to one pan. Yum! The other I added in the can of tomatoes and mixed in some italian cheese blend. It was good as well. Would def make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 54) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Beef and Rice Stuffed Bell Peppers

This simple technique makes stuffed peppers even more delicious.

Slow-Braised Beef and Cherry Tomato Sauce

Watch Chef John prepare a sensational long-simmering meat sauce.

How to Make Corned Beef and Cabbage

See how to make the official meal of St. Patrick’s Day.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States