Beef and Rice Dish Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2008
This is the perfect recipe for busy people. The children love it and it makes great left overs.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Richardson, Texas, USA
Living In: Spring, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2008
This is great! I put in chopped spinach instead of bell peppers and my can of diced tomatoes had basil and oregano in it ('cause this is what I had on hand). Served it with tortilla chips. It was a family hit!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2008
This was really good! I used instant rice, so I cut the liquid down to 2 cups (used 2 bullion cubes to two cups water, instead of the broth) I also added about a half packet of taco seasoning to jazz it up. I served it with tortillas, refried beans, lettuce and sour cream. It was perfect. My boyfriend really liked it. Very filling and I have enough of the mix leftover so I'm going to try using it in a Mexican Shepard's pie. I would defiantly make this again. Even my 10 month old loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Butterflybabybb

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Masontown, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2010
This turned out great! My family gobbled it up. I only made a few changes. I didn't have beef broth so I threw in a can of enchilada sauce and added a little extra water. I also left out the black pepper and added a small can of green chilies and added about a tsp. of cumin. We left off the mozz and mojack and used cheddar when we wrapped them in tortillas. Very good and very filling!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Renee
Home Town: Columbiana, Alabama, USA
Living In: Baton Rouge, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by **Trinity**
Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2008
Very, Very good. I will make again. I precook ground beef, drain it and then freeze it. I also buy green peppers on sale and dice then freeze them. I used frozen beef and peppers in this dish and cut the prep time in half just by making that switch. I also used leftover rice for this recipe. I didn't use any monterey jack cheese... I only used 16 ounces of mozzarella. The results were wonderful! (I should also add that if you do use leftover rice for this recipe, only use about 3 cups and omit the beef broth and water. Instead prepare beef boullion in about a 1/2 cup of water and mix into the pan then simmer a few minutes before topping with the cheese.)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by **Trinity**

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2008
I think this recipe calls for a little too much cheese. I only put between a half and two thirds on and it was excellent.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2010
Just made this tonight and it was wonderful! I used about a 1/3 bag of frozen corn instead of a can of corn and I also cut back on the cheese. It was okay on a corn tortilla, but went wonderfully with tortilla chips! Definately will be making again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Rosemount, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 6, 2010
Very bland, however very economical to make. I made a few changes to enhance the flavor, added black beans and taco seasoning. Even after that I had to add a fair amount of salt. I will make this again with a few modifications.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by lt
Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2010
Good hearty meal,went down well with family of five, I added some mixed spices to the beef while browning as some reviews said it was a bit bland and it gave a nice flavor, Ideal for a cold winters evening. comfort food.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 23, 2012
This is a really good basic dish. I had to use red bell peppers since I didn't have any green ones, but otherwise everything was according to the recipe. For us, it needed a bit more seasoning. But, for those who prefer more toned down dishes, this is perfect. We still greatly enjoyed it & will be making it, with revisions now & then, for years to come.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Jackson, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Kissimmee, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 17) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Crunchy Kale Snacks
Crunchy Kale Snacks

Kale is the healthy, green leaf that transforms into a crunchy snack chip in your oven.

So Many Pork Chop Recipes
So Many Pork Chop Recipes

You can't go wrong choosing from over 400 pork chop recipes with ratings and tips!

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Beef and Rice Stuffed Bell Peppers

This simple technique makes stuffed peppers even more delicious.

Ground Beef Shepherd’s Pie

See a quick-and-easy version of beefy shepherd’s pie.

Simple Beef Stroganoff

A quick and easy dinner recipe with beef and noodles in a creamy mushroom sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States