Beef and Rice Dish Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2006
I found this recipe to be pretty good! It was tasty and easy to prepare. It definitely needs to be wrapped in your favorite taco/burrito shells though and add a touch of cheese (mont. jack, colby, or cheddar). Next time I'll use some salsa, lettuce, tomato and sour cream as well as other taco condiments!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ERIN1YNN

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Quakertown, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Homebush Bay, New South Wales, Australia

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2007
This was really good comfort food. I would definitely make this again. I didn't have any peppers so I just used two onions. I added some fresh cilantro a dash of chili power and a dash of red pepper flakes. Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lambertville, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by lt
Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2010
Good hearty meal,went down well with family of five, I added some mixed spices to the beef while browning as some reviews said it was a bit bland and it gave a nice flavor, Ideal for a cold winters evening. comfort food.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2008
This was really good! I used instant rice, so I cut the liquid down to 2 cups (used 2 bullion cubes to two cups water, instead of the broth) I also added about a half packet of taco seasoning to jazz it up. I served it with tortillas, refried beans, lettuce and sour cream. It was perfect. My boyfriend really liked it. Very filling and I have enough of the mix leftover so I'm going to try using it in a Mexican Shepard's pie. I would defiantly make this again. Even my 10 month old loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Butterflybabybb

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Masontown, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 23, 2012
This is a really good basic dish. I had to use red bell peppers since I didn't have any green ones, but otherwise everything was according to the recipe. For us, it needed a bit more seasoning. But, for those who prefer more toned down dishes, this is perfect. We still greatly enjoyed it & will be making it, with revisions now & then, for years to come.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Jackson, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Kissimmee, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2009
A little bland. But not bad. I added some cumin and fresh cilantro, which made it a little better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by spiceisnice

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Photo by **Trinity**
Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2008
Very, Very good. I will make again. I precook ground beef, drain it and then freeze it. I also buy green peppers on sale and dice then freeze them. I used frozen beef and peppers in this dish and cut the prep time in half just by making that switch. I also used leftover rice for this recipe. I didn't use any monterey jack cheese... I only used 16 ounces of mozzarella. The results were wonderful! (I should also add that if you do use leftover rice for this recipe, only use about 3 cups and omit the beef broth and water. Instead prepare beef boullion in about a 1/2 cup of water and mix into the pan then simmer a few minutes before topping with the cheese.)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by **Trinity**

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2005
Pretty good. I served it in tortillas as burritos.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2010
This turned out great! My family gobbled it up. I only made a few changes. I didn't have beef broth so I threw in a can of enchilada sauce and added a little extra water. I also left out the black pepper and added a small can of green chilies and added about a tsp. of cumin. We left off the mozz and mojack and used cheddar when we wrapped them in tortillas. Very good and very filling!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Renee
Home Town: Columbiana, Alabama, USA
Living In: Baton Rouge, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 6, 2010
Very bland, however very economical to make. I made a few changes to enhance the flavor, added black beans and taco seasoning. Even after that I had to add a fair amount of salt. I will make this again with a few modifications.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 17) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Rockin' Tacos
Rockin' Tacos

A simple tortilla topped with Mexican fillings gives you a burst of spicy flavor.

Mexican Desserts
Mexican Desserts

Flan, churros, tres leches cake? We have these and so many more. It's fiesta time!

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

Beef and Rice Stuffed Bell Peppers

This simple technique makes stuffed peppers even more delicious.

Ground Beef Shepherd’s Pie

See a quick-and-easy version of beefy shepherd’s pie.

Joe's Special Beef and Spinach Scramble

See how to make a classic San Francisco ground beef and spinach scramble.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States