Beef and Rice Dish Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2006
I found this recipe to be pretty good! It was tasty and easy to prepare. It definitely needs to be wrapped in your favorite taco/burrito shells though and add a touch of cheese (mont. jack, colby, or cheddar). Next time I'll use some salsa, lettuce, tomato and sour cream as well as other taco condiments!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ERIN1YNN

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Quakertown, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Homebush Bay, New South Wales, Australia

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2007
This was really good comfort food. I would definitely make this again. I didn't have any peppers so I just used two onions. I added some fresh cilantro a dash of chili power and a dash of red pepper flakes. Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lambertville, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by lt
Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2010
Good hearty meal,went down well with family of five, I added some mixed spices to the beef while browning as some reviews said it was a bit bland and it gave a nice flavor, Ideal for a cold winters evening. comfort food.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2008
This was really good! I used instant rice, so I cut the liquid down to 2 cups (used 2 bullion cubes to two cups water, instead of the broth) I also added about a half packet of taco seasoning to jazz it up. I served it with tortillas, refried beans, lettuce and sour cream. It was perfect. My boyfriend really liked it. Very filling and I have enough of the mix leftover so I'm going to try using it in a Mexican Shepard's pie. I would defiantly make this again. Even my 10 month old loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Butterflybabybb

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Masontown, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 23, 2012
This is a really good basic dish. I had to use red bell peppers since I didn't have any green ones, but otherwise everything was according to the recipe. For us, it needed a bit more seasoning. But, for those who prefer more toned down dishes, this is perfect. We still greatly enjoyed it & will be making it, with revisions now & then, for years to come.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Jackson, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Kissimmee, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2009
A little bland. But not bad. I added some cumin and fresh cilantro, which made it a little better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by spiceisnice

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Photo by **Trinity**
Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2008
Very, Very good. I will make again. I precook ground beef, drain it and then freeze it. I also buy green peppers on sale and dice then freeze them. I used frozen beef and peppers in this dish and cut the prep time in half just by making that switch. I also used leftover rice for this recipe. I didn't use any monterey jack cheese... I only used 16 ounces of mozzarella. The results were wonderful! (I should also add that if you do use leftover rice for this recipe, only use about 3 cups and omit the beef broth and water. Instead prepare beef boullion in about a 1/2 cup of water and mix into the pan then simmer a few minutes before topping with the cheese.)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by **Trinity**

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2005
Pretty good. I served it in tortillas as burritos.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2010
This turned out great! My family gobbled it up. I only made a few changes. I didn't have beef broth so I threw in a can of enchilada sauce and added a little extra water. I also left out the black pepper and added a small can of green chilies and added about a tsp. of cumin. We left off the mozz and mojack and used cheddar when we wrapped them in tortillas. Very good and very filling!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Renee
Home Town: Columbiana, Alabama, USA
Living In: Baton Rouge, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 6, 2010
Very bland, however very economical to make. I made a few changes to enhance the flavor, added black beans and taco seasoning. Even after that I had to add a fair amount of salt. I will make this again with a few modifications.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 17) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Beef and Rice Stuffed Bell Peppers

This simple technique makes stuffed peppers even more delicious.

Ground Beef Shepherd’s Pie

See a quick-and-easy version of beefy shepherd’s pie.

Joe's Special Beef and Spinach Scramble

See how to make a classic San Francisco ground beef and spinach scramble.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States