Beef and Pepper Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2000
"This one is a keeper," says the husband, and I agree. I used fresh mushrooms and peppers packed in water, not oil. Turned out great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2002
MMMM MMMM GOOD!!! here's what i did... i just used a big ol' giant red bell pepper that i had previously chopped and frozen. i also used mushrooms that i had previously sliced, cooked and frozen. after thawing the shrooms, i squeezed some of the juice out of the bag. i also used a whole wheat pie crust from the hippy store (health food store). DEElicious! GO ORGANIC!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2002
I used a frozen stir-fry mix of onions, green red and yellow peppers--still added another onion per the recipe though. Came out great! I had to adjust the liquid level per my ingredients, but was perfect in the end.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2003
This was a wonderful warm dish that was a family pleaser. I plan to make this for Christmas Brunch and add in Green Peppers. I used fresh peppers and rinsed lean ground beef after browning.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2004
I had a puff pastry made up, so used that. Used 3 fresh red peppers and sauteed them a couple minutes at the end of the browning of the beef. For as simple as this recipe is, it was very tasty. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes
Home Town: Silver Bay, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Colfax, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2004
Great recipe. Even better with a little nutmeg and cayenne pepper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2004
I used organic puff pastry for top and bottom -- fresh red and yellow peppers (great color) and a mix of fresh mushrooms-- and 2 cups of sharp cheese.. I have made this 3x in the last month...c crowd pleaser
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2004
Just made this last night and my family and I loved it! I made some adjustments from the other reviews: added cheyene powder, garlic, salt, pepper, fresh green peppers and used the sweet red peppers but drained the liquid-didn't have any mushrooms so omitted them, I used the cheese and onion. I also used the new Pillsbury double pie crust (the easy just roll it on type) It was very good and will be made again and again! Thanks for a new yummy recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DixieHeart

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2005
This was fantastic. It's hearty and tasty and my husband and five year old just gobbled it up. I added an extra cup of cheese to the mix and then sprinkled another quarter cup of cheese over the top before adding the top pie crust. In case you're wondering like I was, the sweet peppers come in a jar and I found them in the produce section of my grocer store. I drained thier juices like another reviewer suggested and I think that's a good move, because the pie stays nice and firm.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MEEMEEBULUGA

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Anchorage, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2006
I choose to just chop up my own peppers instead of buying the peppers in a jar and also prepare this recipe using veggie ground instead of ground beef for a delicious vegetarian alternative. My family loves it...even my non-vegetarian mother and two year old son!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 27) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Not The Same Old Chicken
Not The Same Old Chicken

We have so many top-rated chicken recipes, you'll never run out of dinner ideas again.

Slow Cooker Time Savers
Slow Cooker Time Savers

Imagine dinner making itself in the slow cooker while you relax or do other things.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Beef Pot Pie III

See how to make a simple pot pie with beef and all the veggies.

Firehouse Beef Stew & Shepherd's Pie

Watch a firehouse cook prepare beef stew and shepherd’s pie.

Ground Beef Shepherd’s Pie

See a quick-and-easy version of beefy shepherd’s pie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States