Beef and Pepper Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2005
This was fantastic. It's hearty and tasty and my husband and five year old just gobbled it up. I added an extra cup of cheese to the mix and then sprinkled another quarter cup of cheese over the top before adding the top pie crust. In case you're wondering like I was, the sweet peppers come in a jar and I found them in the produce section of my grocer store. I drained thier juices like another reviewer suggested and I think that's a good move, because the pie stays nice and firm.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MEEMEEBULUGA

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Anchorage, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2004
Just made this last night and my family and I loved it! I made some adjustments from the other reviews: added cheyene powder, garlic, salt, pepper, fresh green peppers and used the sweet red peppers but drained the liquid-didn't have any mushrooms so omitted them, I used the cheese and onion. I also used the new Pillsbury double pie crust (the easy just roll it on type) It was very good and will be made again and again! Thanks for a new yummy recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DixieHeart

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2000
"This one is a keeper," says the husband, and I agree. I used fresh mushrooms and peppers packed in water, not oil. Turned out great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2002
Good but a little heavy. I'd make it just a top crust only pie. Delete the cheese. Saute' fresh peppers with the onions.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2001
definitely a keeper - but, i would take about 1/2 of the liquid out of the peppers, use fresh mushrooms and add more cheese.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Hampden, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2002
MMMM MMMM GOOD!!! here's what i did... i just used a big ol' giant red bell pepper that i had previously chopped and frozen. i also used mushrooms that i had previously sliced, cooked and frozen. after thawing the shrooms, i squeezed some of the juice out of the bag. i also used a whole wheat pie crust from the hippy store (health food store). DEElicious! GO ORGANIC!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2006
We loved this. So simple and you can add whatever vegetables you have on hand to make this quick and easy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2005
I thought this was very good. However I used fresh peppers not "roasted red peppers" which is what I think the recipe called for. Because I didn't have juice from the bottled peppers I did mix up some beef oxo and flour in water and added that to the mixture. I could have thickened it a bit more for our taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2005
A bit runny, too much liquid from the peppers. I added fresh peppers and mushrooms as well. I also added a cube of beef OXO. Very tasty though!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2004
Served this and the family couldn't get enough of this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Syosset, New York, USA
Living In: Freehold, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 25) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Beef Pot Pie III

See how to make a simple pot pie with beef and all the veggies.

Ground Beef Shepherd’s Pie

See a quick-and-easy version of beefy shepherd’s pie.

Chef John's Egg, Potato, and Pepper Pie

A big egg, sausage, pepper, and potato omelet topped with Cheddar and broiled.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States