Beef and Noodle Bake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2002
We made the following changes: 1)We only had a 1/2lb ground beef and 4oz of Velveeta, so we just halved the recipe. To make up for the missing cheese, we sliced up a bit of regular sharp cheddar. 2)We used rainbow rotini pasta. 3)We added some instant minced onion while we were browning the beef (I always do!). Even though we halved the recipe, and used a small baking dish, we couldn't see how to layer everything twice. We ended up just layering the pasta, beef, sauce, then cheese only ONCE. We were skeptical on how it would taste, but we actually liked it more than we thought we would! We both agreed we would make it again. My husband was the one to take it out of the oven, and he mentioned that as he was scooping it out, it was rather watery on the bottom (I didn't get the chance to look). I wonder if it was from the sauce. The ingredients say spaghetti sauce, but the directions say tomato sauce. If you use spaghetti sauce, I would suggest getting a quality brand - good and thick! We may add some garlic to the browning beef next time! Good recipe! Easy and quick!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
420 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Diane Blanchard Angell

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mason City, Iowa, USA
Living In: Rockford, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2006
I tried....but it was just ok. I gave it 3 stars because it was so easy...but another reviewer is right...it tastes like Hamburger Helper. (to be honest I found this site because I was tired of eating that stuff). I am sorry, I won't be trying this again. Thanks anyway for the post.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
346 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Momof2

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Saint Louis, Missouri, USA
Living In: Florissant, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 27, 2006
My mom made this when we were kids for lunch then I fed it to my kids for lunch, who now feed it to their kids for lunch. This also makes a great dinner on nights when your looking for something fast and easy. To make it different and spice it up I use one green pepper diced small, 1 small onion, diced small. 1/2 tsp. of garlic powder, 1/2 tsp. of pepper. Add green pepper, onion, garlic powder or fresh garlic along with pepper and saute with hamburger till cooked. Add one jar of homemade or jarred spaghetti sauce. Simmer sauce with hamburger mixture till ready to use. Cook macaroni till done. Drain macaroni, mix half of beef mixture with macaroni in baking dish, top it with cheese of your choice. Add remaining beef mixture and top it with cheese of your choice. Serve with warm bread and butter and a green salad. If you think it's to dry, add more sauce the next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
334 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Rockford, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2001
This was surprisingly easy. I call it "Gourmet Hamburger Helper." My husband asked for seconds! I used Maverick ground meat and low fat Velveeta. I think cheddar cheese or any other cheese would work well if you don't like Velveeta.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2002
This is a 5 star recipe, not because it is fancy and impressive, but because it is a tasty, kid-pleasing, quick lunch with only 4 ingredients, all of which are probably on-hand.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2002
This recipe is fine and certainly easy enough if your Girl Scout Troop is going for their Cooking Badge, other than that, I wouldn't bother.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LINDA MCLEAN

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lexington, Kentucky, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2002
Although the taste only deserves 3 stars, it is sooo easy to make and my daughter thought it was great that it receives 4. It IS good but nothing special, the velveeta cheese is what makes it different from spaghetti. I added some chopped green bell pepper, onion and mushrooms (which we sauted first) and that helped give it some "umph." I may make again when I am in a hurry and need a quick meal for my family.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2000
An easy and fairly tasty casserole to put together and serve on busy evenings.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2003
I have a recipe almost the same as this called "Mock Lasagna". I have been making it since kids were little. It is a favorite of theirs. You can use the hamburg or 1 pound italian sausage cooked and crumbled. You can use your own sauce or make the one that comes with the recipe: 1-15oz.can tomato sauce(2 cups), 1/2 tsp. of each, garlic salt, pepper and dried basil. Cook on stovetop together with your meat. About 10-15 min. Use 1 1/2 cups cream style cottage cheese, 1 1/2 cups cubed velveeta and 7- 8 0z. cooked elbow macaroni. Same directions as this, only add cottage cheese in dollups on top of layers. I have never tried it with ricotta cheese but bet it would be good also. Should have 3 layers ending with the sauce a cheese layer on top. This is the way we enjoy it and why I gave it 5 stars. Thanks Elizabeth!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2003
Kids love it and so do I . Really easy to make. Try some pepperoni with it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by VETTELVR24
Home Town: Reeltown, Alabama, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 256) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Spicy Vietnamese Beef Noodle Soup

Chef John makes pho, the spicy Vietnamese noodle soup.

Beef Bourguignon

Learn how to make this delicious beef stew, slow-cooked in red wine.

How to Make Beef Wellington

Make the classic filet mignon and mushroom dish named after Duke Wellington.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States