Beef and Mushroom Stuffed Peppers Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Zswanie
Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2014
Changed the recipe by replacing the gravy with 3 tbs tomato paste and 1/2 cup water. Added cilantro as garnish
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Zswanie

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2013
I was looking for a simple recipe for stuffed bell peppers, and this is it. I didn't have beef gravy or mushrooms available, but I did have a very chunky organic condensed cream of portabella mushroom soup and some really tasty low-sodium beef bouillon cubes. So, I dissolved 2 bouillon cubes in 16 oz of the condensed mushroom soup (without thinning it) and used that in place of gravy and mushrooms in the recipe. I added some crushed garlic, too. Otherwise I followed the recipe as written. I served it with garlic-&-herb mashed potatoes & a side salad. Short-cuts for this recipe: Use diced frozen onions. Monthly brown 4 pounds of lean ground beef, put 1/4 of the browned, drained meat into each of 4 quart-size ziploc bags, & freeze until needed. In this case, you'd just grab a bag of the precooked browned beef, throw it in the skillet long enough to sautée the onions & mushrooms, then just add gravy since it's already drained. Gluten-free alternative: use GF gravy or use my modification with Pacific Natural Foods Cream of Mushroom condensed soup & GF bouillon cubes. Lower the fat content by rinsing the drained ground beef with hot water, and using vegetarian ground beef replacement for 1/2 of the ground beef, and using low-fat cheese. (Using rice or bread as extenders will add starchy carbs.)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2013
I added a few extra seasonings but it was delicious! Meets phase one of the south beach diet. Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by OODLES_OR

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Portland, Oregon, USA
Living In: Salem, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2013
Good. I switched ground beef out and used spicy ground sausage. It was fantastic!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 16, 2013
This was the best stuffed pepper recipe that I have ever tried! Everyone in my family liked it! Definitely putting this into the rotation!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SarahStumphf

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Middletown, New York, USA
Living In: Clarksville, Tennessee, USA
Photo by Manda
Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2013
This was delicious. I modified this recipe slightly by using Johnsonville sausage instead of beef and red peppers. It was delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Manda

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Orange, California, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2012
One of our family's favorite meals. I do make it with red peppers and substitute pork sausage for the beef. YUMMMY!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2012
Really good. Used mozzarella cheese and added garlic and adobo to the meat mixture...yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Elmwood Park, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Oakland, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2012
This recipe is amazing! The only thing I did differently was dice up the pepper tops and add them to the meet mixture, I also mixed 1 cup of shredded Monterey Jack Cheese in the meat mixture, and chopped up one jalepeno pepper and put it into the meat mixture. With everything else, I followed the recipe. I did though add more mushrooms. This is a recipe to share! Thank You to whoever posted it! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 6, 2012
Beefy and Yummy! Served over mashed potatoes!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 66) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Best Thanksgiving Recipes
Best Thanksgiving Recipes

From the bird to the sides to the cranberry sauce and the pie, it's all here for you.

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Beef and Rice Stuffed Bell Peppers

This simple technique makes stuffed peppers even more delicious.

Kelsey's Favorite Stuffed Green Peppers

Peppers stuffed with rice, sauce, and seasoned beef and topped with cheese.

Stuffed Peppers

See how to make delicious, beefy stuffed bell peppers.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States