Beef and Mushroom Stuffed Peppers Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2008
This is a great combination of ingredients and flavors! We are trying to cut back a little on the amount of red meat we eat, so I only used 1/2 a pound of ground beef, but I added in about a cup of cooked brown rice before adding the gravy to make up for what we were leaving out. I used an entire 8oz container of fresh unsliced mushrooms - I'm not sure if that would have been the same as using 1 cup, but because they shrink down while in the saute pan, it turned out to be just the right amount. I also used only about a half a cup of gravy to bring the beef mixture together, and I saved the rest for each person at the table to use on top of the meal. Thanks for the wonderful recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Englewood, Colorado, USA
Living In: Fort Collins, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2001
Excellent recipe! This is a great alternative to regular "Italian" style stuffed peppers. I used Monterey Jack cheese with hot peppers instead of plain Monterey Jack. It made for a spicy dish! I'll definitely be making this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tim

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Panama City, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2007
As written I would just rate this 3 stars but following suggestions in reviews it was quite good. I did add Paula Deen's House Seasoning and cayenne pepper to the ground meat while browning. After draining meat I also added about 2 cups cooked white rice. Used entire two cups of gravy in mixture to bind and made a third cup to drizzle over cooked peppers. I also seasoned the last cup of gravy a little to give it some added flavor. It turned out pretty good despite the fact that I only had green peppers on hand. I am sure it will be even better with red.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Karen ~~.,.~~
Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2010
I was happy to find a stuffed peppers recipe with ground beef and no tomato ingredient. This is a great basic recipe that stands beautifully on it’s own, or you can add as much of what you like to taste. My 2nd time making this I sautéed the onions and mushrooms first, added a 1/2 cup of uncooked 30 minute rice, some Italian bread crumbs, minced garlic and a pinch of cayenne pepper. I also didn’t blanch the peppers first and instead added a bit of water to the pan to steam a bit during cooking. Peppers came out al dente, which is the way we personally like them. Using small peppers makes for a very nice appetizer too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Karen ~~.,.~~

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2001
make sure you use all lean meat and low fat cheese, b/c the fat can add up significantly when everything is done.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2008
WOW! This was delicious! I seasoned the meat with Adobo and pepper, otherwise I followed the recipe as is. I served it in a pool of gravy with some brown rice, and warmed Hawaiian Rolls. I sent the two peppers I had left to my dad, and he called the next day RAVING about these. YUMMO!! It was so easy to make and the presentation was very pretty. I regret not taking a picture. I will be making this again and again and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2001
Great recipe, I added rice in my mixture and it was super.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2011
Excellent switch up to green peppers with tomato sauce. Had enough filling for 4 medium size red peppers. Added garlic & cayenne to meat based on suggestions. Used McCormick beef gravy mix packet, had 1 cup leftover so next time I'll cut that back. Didn't boil peppers since I like them crisp, only baked for about 15min. Used italian blend cheese since that's all I had. Served brown rice on side. So yum! Will definitely make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CrystalGayle

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2010
I thought these were really tasty. One thing that I forgot to add was the gravy so I'm sure that would have held the mixture together. I won't forget that again next time; I make these!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jennymama

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: San Pedro, California, USA
Living In: Long Beach, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2010
I used red bellpeppers instead of yellow. It was very delicious. The mushrooms added a great flavor to this dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Eric Bassett

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 66) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Beef and Rice Stuffed Bell Peppers

This simple technique makes stuffed peppers even more delicious.

Kelsey's Favorite Stuffed Green Peppers

Peppers stuffed with rice, sauce, and seasoned beef and topped with cheese.

Stuffed Peppers

See how to make delicious, beefy stuffed bell peppers.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States