Beef and Mushroom Stroganoff, Aussie Style Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2007
This was wonderful...if you want to try stroganoff with a twist - try this! The curry creates a great flavor, without the heat. I added a can of cream of mushroom soup to make a little more sauce, and then used 3/4 cup of cream and 3/4 cup of sour cream. Also, I used potatoes instead of noodles. My kids were licking out their bowls!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
121 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by monique*

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Salmon Arm, British Columbia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2007
I love the way the sauce thickens up on standing. Delicious flavor. I did leave out the curry due to personal preference.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
66 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Placerville, California, USA
Living In: El Dorado Hills, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 1, 2006
This dish was a hit with my whole family. I used olive oil instead of butter, beef broth, half n half and sour cream. I omitted the curry but did season with Nature's Seasons. It was very easy and tasted great. The best kind of recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
60 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2010
I didn't follow the recipe exactly, so I didn't feel I should rate this recipe. HOWEVER, even with the changes I made, this recipe was fantastic. I didn't use near as many mushrooms because I'm not entirely fond of them and I use beef broth instead of beef boillon and water. I also had to use sour cream as most stroganoffs do because I didn't have heavy cream on hand.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
43 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Onekama, Michigan, USA
Living In: Moline, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 3, 2011
I took advice of other review and skipped curry added pepper/garlic salt/added 1/4 c red wine. Also used 12 oz pkg white sliced mushrooms and used 1 cup cream & 1/4 cup sour cream. Added 1 Tablespoon worcestershire sauce at end. Serves over hot noodles and it was amazing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
33 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by nanciemartin

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Erie, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Coto De Caza, California, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2006
I really enjoyed this-I did add a bit of sour cream, used half and half, and used all fresh mushrooms and it turned out great. I also added the meat later than called for so it would be less done. Thanks for the ideas!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
33 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2004
Made exactly as recipe'd...except didn't have Shitakes, so doubled up on the button white, fresh sliced. A keeper, Rosemary! First time was over boiled Russet potatoes. Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 22, 2007
Wow, thanks everyone for the reviews and suggestions, I might try a few of them myself. I submitted this recipe many years ago and have forgotton my original account details. Also try making this with pasta instead of noodles.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2006
Great recipe, my picky husband liked it! I added a bit of cornstarch in the end to thicken up just a bit and it turned out great. Very different with curry but it wasn't overpowering, just great flavor. I get bored with the tangy sour cream flavor of other stroganoff recipes I have tried.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by COOTIEBUGABOO

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2005
This recipe was delicious. I used an abbreviated version of it with regular white mushrooms only, just teaspoon of curry powder, ground beef instead of sirloin and shell pasta. It still came out amazing. It took longer than 20 minutes to evaporate the liquid and I was worried that it would taste like curry but it really didn't.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 70) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Easy Weeknight Beef Stroganoff

Get a head start on classic beef stroganoff.

How to Make Classic Beef Stroganoff

Watch Chef John prepare his secret recipe for creamy beef stroganoff.

Easy Beef Stroganoff

This rich, creamy stroganoff makes a tasty weeknight dinner.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States