Beef and Mushroom Stroganoff, Aussie Style Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2011
YUMMY...I used fresh and beef broth...Thank you Rosemary...a Canadian Fan!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2011
Suggestion: The photo shows something green which was not included in the recipe. I'd use FRESH Italian flat parsley or chopped FRESH baby spinach for the green touch. For those uncertain about adding curry, extract a bit of the sauce and add a tiny pinch of curry and give it a taste.If you like the flavor then go for it. Curry can add amazing flavor to a recipe. I'm also a fan of red wine and sour cream. For an economical variation that's equally delicious use a low fat ground beef.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2011
I'm thinking that if you add 1-1/2 cups cream to anything it's going to be good...any recommendations for making this recipe a little less fat and cholesterol would be appreciated
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 3, 2011
I took advice of other review and skipped curry added pepper/garlic salt/added 1/4 c red wine. Also used 12 oz pkg white sliced mushrooms and used 1 cup cream & 1/4 cup sour cream. Added 1 Tablespoon worcestershire sauce at end. Serves over hot noodles and it was amazing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
33 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by nanciemartin

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Erie, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Coto De Caza, California, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2011
I made this delicious meal for my family last night! It was a hit, although I didnt use that much mushrooms and just bought the fresh presliced white button mushrooms and that was all I needed since I dont like the over powering taste of mushrooms! Didnt use curry but used a pinch of cayenne powder, garlic powder, and salt and pepper! Made home made mash potatoes with it and sweet hawaiian rolls...YUMMY!!!!! :))
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2011
This was perfect for leftover steak tips that I had to use up. I didn't have canned or shiitake mushrooms so just cooked lots of button mushrooms w/the onion & garlic in EVOO. Also used light cream. Thanks Rosemary!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2010
Yummy! I loved it and so did the children. Hubby was ok with it, he's not a big fan of curry...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FoodisGood

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Fair Haven, Michigan, USA
Living In: Eastpointe, Michigan, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2010
I didn't follow the recipe exactly, so I didn't feel I should rate this recipe. HOWEVER, even with the changes I made, this recipe was fantastic. I didn't use near as many mushrooms because I'm not entirely fond of them and I use beef broth instead of beef boillon and water. I also had to use sour cream as most stroganoffs do because I didn't have heavy cream on hand.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
43 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Onekama, Michigan, USA
Living In: Moline, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2010
This is really good. For curry lovers it hits the spot. I added a little corn starch for thickening and served over rice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by ALFANN02
Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2010
Delicious! Loved the curry flavor in this dish. I slow simmered the meat until it was very tender. Close to an hr i believe. I used fat free half and half and it worked fine. Not as thick but still very good.It definitely tasted better than it looked.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ALFANN02

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 70) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Easy Weeknight Beef Stroganoff

Get a head start on classic beef stroganoff.

How to Make Classic Beef Stroganoff

Watch Chef John prepare his secret recipe for creamy beef stroganoff.

Easy Beef Stroganoff

This rich, creamy stroganoff makes a tasty weeknight dinner.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States