Beef and Lentil Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2011
I loved this soup! It was full of flavor! I will definitely be making this a regular. I did not change anything except I did not have cilantro or oregano, so substituted dried parsley and marjoram and omitted the fresh parsley at the end. So worth the wait!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2011
I am not a usually a lentil fan, but this is spectacular! I use extra lean ground beef or ground sirloin instead of the chuck. I also use a combination of beef broth and chicken (about a 2:1 ratio). Brilliantly flavourful. Thanks so much for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cheshiyre

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Portland, Oregon, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2011
Very good. First time I used lentils. I used beef broth and Ground beef because that was what was available and added a box of frozen spinach. I also added a dash of chili powder. It was perfect on such a chilly day! definitely a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 10, 2011
I use beef and veg broth instead of chicken and barley instead of lentils. I didn't have lentils on hand the first time I made it and the barley is perfect! I love this recipe and it's a definite staple in my house.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2011
My family LOVED this recipe! We followed others advice (and the picture!) and put it over pasta, which we enjoyed. The meat was tender as were the lentils and the flavor was absolutely wonderful. We will be putting this in the dinner rotation for sure!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sjbm3

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Coldwater, Michigan, USA
Living In: Grandville, Michigan, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2011
I made this soup with my leftover standing rib roast from Christmas dinner. It was hearty, tastey and easy to make. Like others suggested, I used beef broth instead of chicken. I also left out the celery. I would make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2011
Perfect for a cold January night! I made some of my own beef stock w/ my leftover Christmas Prime Rib roast. I didn't have lots of meat, but the flavors were great. A can of crushed tomatoes worked well since I was out of diced. I also used fresh cilantro and a splash of red wine in my bowl just because I had some. A good Balsamic vinegar would also be tasty. The parm on top was excellent. Leftovers for tomorrow! Yeah!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2010
Made as recipe stated with exception of using beef broth instead of chicken broth as other reviewers had suggested. Meat was tender and the flavor was nice but nothing spectacular. I would use about half the lentils called for - there were definitely more of them than anything else - and increase the veggies.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2010
Yum! When I read the recipe, it seemed like an odd combination of herbs, but it was really good. I used ground beef, just because that was what I had on hand. I'll add some more broth to the leftovers, though, because it doesn't seem to have enough left.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2010
Yummy! Omitted celery. I used a pound of dry lentils, only because when I measured out 2 cups it only left about 1/3 cup in the bag, and what am I going to do with 1/3 cup dry lentils? Used beef broth. Did not have oregano or cilantro; used thyme and marjoram instead. Next time will probably add more meat, less liquid, and serve more as a stew. Lentils were good, but the meat was outstanding. Will make beer bread next time - seems like this would be a great pairing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA
Living In: Joshua Tree, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 31) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Greek Lentil Soup

See how to make a simple, traditional Greek lentil soup.

Chef John's Black Lentil Soup

Black lentils, bacon, and aromatic veggies make a deeply delicious soup.

Beef Barley Vegetable Soup

A hearty beef and barley soup loaded with plenty of vegetables.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States