Beef and Lentil Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2012
Cheap, tasty, and easy. I used beef bullion and water in place of chicken broth. My husband said I could keep practicing with this one, and went to get another bowl. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2012
I did not make the soup exactly because I had different ingredients but it came out great. I used crushed tomatoes instead of fresh diced tomatoes. I also added a beef bouillon cube. I also added about 2 tbsp of Worcestershire sauce and two bay leaves since I had them. Lastly, I threw it all in my slow cooker for 5 hours on high.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2012
excellent soup, tried making with pork - sooo good, taste like my gma's recipe, she used to add 2 T wine vinegar at the end of cooking so I did too, yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2012
40 minutes to cook lentils in a simmer just wasn't long enough. The soup was tasty, but with kinda hard lentils, it bombed...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2011
I loved this soup! It was full of flavor! I will definitely be making this a regular. I did not change anything except I did not have cilantro or oregano, so substituted dried parsley and marjoram and omitted the fresh parsley at the end. So worth the wait!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2011
I am not a usually a lentil fan, but this is spectacular! I use extra lean ground beef or ground sirloin instead of the chuck. I also use a combination of beef broth and chicken (about a 2:1 ratio). Brilliantly flavourful. Thanks so much for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cheshiyre

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Portland, Oregon, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2011
Very good. First time I used lentils. I used beef broth and Ground beef because that was what was available and added a box of frozen spinach. I also added a dash of chili powder. It was perfect on such a chilly day! definitely a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 10, 2011
I use beef and veg broth instead of chicken and barley instead of lentils. I didn't have lentils on hand the first time I made it and the barley is perfect! I love this recipe and it's a definite staple in my house.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2011
My family LOVED this recipe! We followed others advice (and the picture!) and put it over pasta, which we enjoyed. The meat was tender as were the lentils and the flavor was absolutely wonderful. We will be putting this in the dinner rotation for sure!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sjbm3

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Coldwater, Michigan, USA
Living In: Grandville, Michigan, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2011
I made this soup with my leftover standing rib roast from Christmas dinner. It was hearty, tastey and easy to make. Like others suggested, I used beef broth instead of chicken. I also left out the celery. I would make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 35) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Winningest Football Party Ever
Winningest Football Party Ever

Big, bold food is always the best play. Get the top recipes now.

 Super Bowl Appetizers
Super Bowl Appetizers

How much jalapeno and bacon will it take to fuel YOUR fans?

Allrecipes Magazine
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John's Black Lentil Soup

Black lentils, bacon, and aromatic veggies make a deeply delicious soup.

Greek Lentil Soup

See how to make a simple, traditional Greek lentil soup.

Beef Barley Vegetable Soup

A hearty beef and barley soup loaded with plenty of vegetables.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States