Beef and Lentil Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2009
The only change I made to the recipe was using beef broth rather then chicken. It was wonderful! ;-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2010
You could add drained cooked hamburger to this instead of beef and I chopped my veges in a small quisinart. I also used rehidrated onion as I forgot onion at the store and 1 T. fresh oregano, fresh parsley. 1 bay leaf. Made a double batch w/ large crushed tomatoes, I will only use one can next time. It made two pretty good sized pots. Next time I will use my 9qt. cast iron pan on low. Cooked for about 2 hours and could not keep the kids away from it. It freezes beautifully.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Susie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sparks, Nevada, USA
Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2009
My "I hate vegetables because I'm sure they'll kill me" 11 year old helped make this soup. He and his 9 year old, "I'll eat SOME veggies unless they're green" brother both loved the smell as it cooked. I had my 11 year old "try the soup" to see if it was done and he LOVED it. I added more veggies including chopped fresh spinach and a can of beef chunks from Costco instead of the regular beef. I'm trying to eat more legumes and this will be on the top of my legume recipe list now! If the kids will eat it, it's all good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Kim's Cooking Now!
Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2009
We absolutely loved this. I modified it only slightly - using part chicken broth and part beef stock, because that's what I had on hand that needed to be used up. I did not use the cilantro - only parsley. I only added 1 cup of lentils, which was plenty for the amount of stock that I added. In the end, it was more like a stew. I served it over ditalini pasta with crusty french bread on the side. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kim's Cooking Now!

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Little Chute, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Kennesaw, Georgia, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2009
A fantastic combination! The beef and lentils go so well together. This recipe is a real winner - no changes needed, although I substituted beef broth for the chicken broth like many other reviewers. As with many soups/stews, it's even better the second day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2010
I followed other reviews and used beef and vege broth instead of chicken. I added some frozen corn and peas as well as about 2T Worcestershire. Also, I didn't have enough lentils on hand so I did half lentils/ half barley. I'll definitely make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2008
My husband and I loved this soup! It didn't last long in our kitchen and we'll make it again soon!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lynda Tombrella

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Amarillo, Texas, USA
Living In: Bremerton, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Baking Nana
Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2014
This was a great Fall dinner. I changed the recipe up a bit and used Johnsonville Italian sausage instead of the beef. I did cut the garlic back to 3 cloves (my garlic cloves were really big) and used beef broth instead of chicken. Everyone loved it, so much so that I had trouble saving a bit for lunch the next day. I thought the family was going to start licking the pot.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Baking Nana

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Corona, California, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2011
I am not a usually a lentil fan, but this is spectacular! I use extra lean ground beef or ground sirloin instead of the chuck. I also use a combination of beef broth and chicken (about a 2:1 ratio). Brilliantly flavourful. Thanks so much for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cheshiyre

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Portland, Oregon, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2011
Very good. First time I used lentils. I used beef broth and Ground beef because that was what was available and added a box of frozen spinach. I also added a dash of chili powder. It was perfect on such a chilly day! definitely a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 33) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Chef John's Black Lentil Soup

Black lentils, bacon, and aromatic veggies make a deeply delicious soup.

Greek Lentil Soup

See how to make a simple, traditional Greek lentil soup.

Beef Barley Vegetable Soup

A hearty beef and barley soup loaded with plenty of vegetables.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States