Beef and Lentil Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2010
Yum! When I read the recipe, it seemed like an odd combination of herbs, but it was really good. I used ground beef, just because that was what I had on hand. I'll add some more broth to the leftovers, though, because it doesn't seem to have enough left.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2010
Yummy! Omitted celery. I used a pound of dry lentils, only because when I measured out 2 cups it only left about 1/3 cup in the bag, and what am I going to do with 1/3 cup dry lentils? Used beef broth. Did not have oregano or cilantro; used thyme and marjoram instead. Next time will probably add more meat, less liquid, and serve more as a stew. Lentils were good, but the meat was outstanding. Will make beer bread next time - seems like this would be a great pairing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA
Living In: Joshua Tree, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2010
I followed other reviews and used beef and vege broth instead of chicken. I added some frozen corn and peas as well as about 2T Worcestershire. Also, I didn't have enough lentils on hand so I did half lentils/ half barley. I'll definitely make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2010
You could add drained cooked hamburger to this instead of beef and I chopped my veges in a small quisinart. I also used rehidrated onion as I forgot onion at the store and 1 T. fresh oregano, fresh parsley. 1 bay leaf. Made a double batch w/ large crushed tomatoes, I will only use one can next time. It made two pretty good sized pots. Next time I will use my 9qt. cast iron pan on low. Cooked for about 2 hours and could not keep the kids away from it. It freezes beautifully.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Susie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sparks, Nevada, USA
Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2010
One of my all time favorite soups! I do make a few alterations when I make this but I stick pretty close to the over all idea of the recipe (I use veggie broth vs. chicken, do not like cilantro or celery, use veggie meat instead of real). This recipe shows me that some of the real winners on this site do not necessarily have hundreds or thousands of reviews. This is a real hidden gem!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mandee Lei

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2009
This was a great lentil soup my husband and I loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by morgan

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2009
I gave this 4 stars because it took about 12 hours on "hi" for my lentils to become tender. I actually had to scrap this for dinner that night because it wasn't done. (Next time I will follow another reviewer's suggestion to add the tomatoes later in the process.) I saved this in the fridge for another night and the leftovers were definitely 5 stars! This is the best lentil dish I've ever made. Next time, I will either cook it on the stove, so I have more control over the heat, or I will boil my stock and water before adding it so it doesn't take so long to start cooking the lentils. The smoky flavor of the kielbasa really blends with the spices and lentils to make a delicicous stew!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2009
A fantastic combination! The beef and lentils go so well together. This recipe is a real winner - no changes needed, although I substituted beef broth for the chicken broth like many other reviewers. As with many soups/stews, it's even better the second day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2009
this was a HUGE hit! Only difference, I used beef broth. My husband raved and my 4 year old asked for more...tough crowd too! will definatley add to my cookbook and make again :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by katown666

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kingston, New Hampshire, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Kim's Cooking Now!
Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2009
We absolutely loved this. I modified it only slightly - using part chicken broth and part beef stock, because that's what I had on hand that needed to be used up. I did not use the cilantro - only parsley. I only added 1 cup of lentils, which was plenty for the amount of stock that I added. In the end, it was more like a stew. I served it over ditalini pasta with crusty french bread on the side. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kim's Cooking Now!

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Little Chute, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Kennesaw, Georgia, USA

Displaying results 21-30 (of 33) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Chef John's Black Lentil Soup

Black lentils, bacon, and aromatic veggies make a deeply delicious soup.

Greek Lentil Soup

See how to make a simple, traditional Greek lentil soup.

Beef Barley Vegetable Soup

A hearty beef and barley soup loaded with plenty of vegetables.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States