Beef and Irish Stout Stew Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2010
It's so nice to find a stew recipe that doesn't have potatoes in it. This is good served by itself with bacon-green beans on the side and a simple lettuce and tomato salad.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Patty

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Oklahoma City, Oklahoma, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2010
Oh yummy... I added a little more beer, but left enough for a sip for the cook!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2010
Love this! I make it regularly, and the only thing I add is carrots & celery.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by brick wade

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2010
very popular w/the men folk. i thought it was a bit beer-y.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kimi Sturgess

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Temecula, California, USA
Reviewed: May 7, 2010
Great recipe. Easy and delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2010
It was nice until I served it on mashed potatoes, as suggested. Then it completely mixed with the mashed potato to make it a flavorless soupy potato mess. The potatoes dulled out the flavor of the stew, and the stew overly watered the mashed potatoes. Unfortunately, even before the potatoes, it wasn't amazing enough for me to want to make again. Not awful, just not particularly noteworthy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Syracuse, New York, USA
Living In: Lebanon, New Hampshire, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2010
The first time I made this was for St. Patrick's Day a year ago. We loved it! I have made it countless times since then. The reason I gave it 4 starts is... The first time I made it, I followed the recipe exactly, and it just seemed to be missing something. (although still very good) I have played around with the recipe a bit, and tailored it to our tastes. In addition to the original recipe I add... 3 to 4 Bay Leaves and about 2 tablespoons of Worcestershire Sauce. Guinness Extra Stout is the beer of choice for us, 1 bottle, and I will add a little extra tomato paste if it needs to be thickened up. All in all, this is a top notch stew!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2010
Excellent stew, I make this for St. Patrick's day. To top this dish off, I bring a drizzle bottle of very good balsamic vinegar to the table. Each diner can drizzle as little or as much as they want to taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rabyn

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Detroit, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2010
Delish! Hit the spot!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Java Mama

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Conroe, Texas, USA
Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2010
Delicious. The longer it cooks, the better it gets (and the less it tastes like beer stew).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Leah2974

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 195) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken Breast Recipes
Chicken Breast Recipes

With our 2,700+ chicken breast recipes, you'll never serve the same old chicken again.

Zucchini On The Grill
Zucchini On The Grill

The firm, juicy texture of zucchini make them a perfect side to toss on the grill.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Irish Stew

This simple lamb stew is too good to eat just once a year.

Chef John's Irish Pork Stew

Now here’s what we should be eating for St. Patrick’s Day!

Irish Stew

This classic stew is hearty, easy, and delicious.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States