Beef and Irish Stout Stew Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2011
My husband and I both loved this stew! I modified it by adding cubed potatoes to the stew, rather than serving it over mashed potatoes. Since I was worried the potatoes would soak up too much of the liquid, I added a touch more beer. It was delicious! The base is almost like a gravy, and is perfect to dip crusty bread into. I will definitely be making this again soon!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2011
Great recipe!! I prepared it exactly as is except I threw in a bit of extra carrot and beef. I browned the beef in two batches. One of my new all-time favorite recipes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LIZA COOKS

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Freeport, Maine, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2010
I make this all the time, it must be served over Irish Champ and with Irish Soda Bread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mendy

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Noblesville, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2010
Really liked the stew. I did change a few things. I mixed the tomato paste with beef broth rather than water. I used an extra clove of garlic. I added some celery at the same time as the onion and garlic. Used a few more oz of beer. Added 2 potatoes with the carrots. being i put in some potatoes it needed a bit more moisture so I added some beef broth. served it in a sourdough bread bowl, my picky 8yo son said the best stew ever.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2010
I added marjoram, rosemary, brown sugar and worcestershire sauce. Also, I added a bit of allspice when browning the meat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Quebec, Quebec, Canada
Living In: Kailua, Hawaii, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2010
I added a few prunes, added alot more flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by carol

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2010
For more flavor, I add another clove or two of garlic, and I use a whole small can of tomato paste. This has become a tradition in my damily to make every st. patty's day. I buy sourdough bread bowls from panera and serve it in those, it is something I look forward to making every year.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Novi, Michigan, USA
Living In: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2010
I made the recipe pretty much to the letter, though I did add some beef stock as I was worried the stout flavour might over power everything. I didn't have any fresh thyme so I added a combination or dried oregano, dried parsley and a touch of cinnamon. My partner thought it was the best stew he'd ever had!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Amsterdam, Noord-Holland, Netherlands

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2010
This will be my staple meal for St. Patrick's. I followed the recipe to the letter and it turned out perfect! The Guinness really added to the flavor. Perfect dish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2010
I made this over the weekend for an Irish themed party and it was a hit! (Already sent the recipe to a guest.) However, I'm giving it 4 stars because like many of the other reviewers, it didn't have as much flavor as I expected. I only made a few modifications: for a doubled batch, I added one bay leaf, 1 cup of beef broth (for the slow cooker), and 6 oz. of tomato paste; I also used extra stout Guinness. Also, since it was 92 degrees out when I made it, after deglazing the pan, I put it in the slower cooker for 8 1/2 hours on low - great tip from the other reviews, thanks! Other than those changes, I followed the recipe. It was very good and the gravy was thick enough that we ate it alone -without potatoes. Overall, really good recipe! The beer flavor is extremely intense the first night but mellows by day two (when I served it). This is a very nice alternative to traditional beef stew. The beer flavor can be a bit much for some people, but it's "...Irish Stout Stew," that flavor should be expected! In the end, this is a great recipe as is but it's also super easy to modify to your individual tastes. I'm definitely making this again!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 195) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Gourmet Chicken
Gourmet Chicken

We have over 150 different ways to take chicken from everyday to gourmet.

Springtime Salads
Springtime Salads

All the tenderest leaves, baby vegetables, and early fruits are ready for the picking.

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

How to Make Irish Stew

This simple lamb stew is too good to eat just once a year.

Chef John's Irish Pork Stew

Now here’s what we should be eating for St. Patrick’s Day!

Irish Stew

This classic stew is hearty, easy, and delicious.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States