Beef and Irish Stout Stew Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2011
We ate this but it was really bland. I followed the direction with just a couple additions thinking that would up the flavor. I added a little allspice to the flour mix and went heavy on both the black and cayenne peppers. I increased the thyme and added a few dashes of worchestershire. Good enough to eat but I will look for a different recipe next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2011
Excellent recipe. We made it just as written, with two exceptions. We waited and added the carrots for the last hour. We also put cubed potatoes in the stew for the last 40 minutes rather than serving over mashed. We and our guests loved this stew and it was a great alternative to corned beef and cabbage.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2011
I found this too greasy, and did not like the flavor of the tomato paste at all. I usually use the same ingredients, but leave out the tomatoes and garlic. I think it ruins the flavor a bit. I made a whole batch last St. Patty's day and gave it away because my husband and I didn't like the flavor at all, but other people might. I would cut down the oil to two tablespoons, and then take out the beef, drain the oil, add a whole bottle and a half of guinness to get the bits off the bottom, then add the onion and beef back. I also add beef broth and potatoes to it; the potatoes help to thicken the stew. If you like the flavor of tomato paste and garlic in your stew with less broth, then this is for you! I agree with the other reviewers that it lacked flavor. I won't make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2011
I wasnt sure how this would come out but my family and I downed this whole thing in one night!!! Its perfect exactly how it is. The only thing was I added potatoes. Thanks for this recipe!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2011
Very good. Used 2 bottles of Guiness stout and extra salt and pepper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Birmingham, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2011
My husband and I both loved this stew! I modified it by adding cubed potatoes to the stew, rather than serving it over mashed potatoes. Since I was worried the potatoes would soak up too much of the liquid, I added a touch more beer. It was delicious! The base is almost like a gravy, and is perfect to dip crusty bread into. I will definitely be making this again soon!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2011
Great recipe!! I prepared it exactly as is except I threw in a bit of extra carrot and beef. I browned the beef in two batches. One of my new all-time favorite recipes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LIZA COOKS

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Freeport, Maine, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2010
I make this all the time, it must be served over Irish Champ and with Irish Soda Bread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mendy

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Noblesville, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2010
Really liked the stew. I did change a few things. I mixed the tomato paste with beef broth rather than water. I used an extra clove of garlic. I added some celery at the same time as the onion and garlic. Used a few more oz of beer. Added 2 potatoes with the carrots. being i put in some potatoes it needed a bit more moisture so I added some beef broth. served it in a sourdough bread bowl, my picky 8yo son said the best stew ever.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2010
I added marjoram, rosemary, brown sugar and worcestershire sauce. Also, I added a bit of allspice when browning the meat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Quebec, Quebec, Canada
Living In: Kailua, Hawaii, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 190) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Irish Stew

This simple lamb stew is too good to eat just once a year.

Chef John's Irish Pork Stew

Now here’s what we should be eating for St. Patrick’s Day!

Irish Stew

This classic stew is hearty, easy, and delicious.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States