Beef and Irish Stout Stew Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2011
Yum yum yum!!! I made this today and it turned out fantastic! The only thing I did was throw in a handful of peas, and about 1 cup of leftover green beans from the night before! It was a perfect winter stew!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AOSWALT

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Craig, Missouri, USA
Living In: Burr, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2011
Really good, hearty. I have a sense that the addition of the tomato paste might not be critical, so, I'm going to try it without it just like a regular stew.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dennis

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lakeview, Michigan, USA
Living In: Hanford, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2011
This was very good and I will make it again but next time I will cut down on the beer to about 1/2 and use beef stock for the remaining liquid. I thought the Guinness was a little strong. Also will add some Worhestershire. Now my boyfriend loves Guinness so he adored the dish, over mashed potatos was a winner with him.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SHELBYCANCOOK

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Arlington, Texas, USA
Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2011
Great with Murphy's stout- a little more mild and sweet. Waaaaaay better when you don't skip the step with the meat in the flour. Tried it both ways.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2011
This was great. Loved all of the leftovers we had because it seemed to get better and better! This does need some modifications, but it is very easy to suit to your tastes! I used a whole can of guiness as the recipe calls for. I found the bitterness went away the longer it simmered (about 3 1/2 hours for me). I added a T of sugar, a can of beef broth because I like my stews soupy, a bay leaf, and a shot of worsteshire. For the last hour, I added diced red potatoes. Loved the result!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2011
I made this last week for St. Patrick's Day, and it was quite tasty! I didn't use the recipe (forgot to print it and my laptop had died) so I went from memory, using 2 14(ish) ounce cans of Guinness (which I happen to love) minus a few sips for myself LOL. I also added potatoes to the stew instead of mashing them, because I was being lazy. Because of all the potatoes, carrots and onions (along with the beef) it got very thick quickly, so I added a can of beef broth and misc seasonings (from a jar of mixed spices) and the taste was great...and my house smelled delicious! I served it with homemade biscuits and my one problem was that it had a bit of a 'bite' in the back of your throat, much like drinking an actual guinness. I don't know if this was because I didn't cook it long enough, added too much beer or what have you. I've also heard that the cans with the cartridges in them will do that, but that's the only way I could find Guinness. I'll make it again and play, because the flavor without that bite was delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KateRBels

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Latham, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2011
This was good overall- just a little bland. I added some sugar (about a tablespoon or two) as another reviewer suggested. I also added quite a bit of Maggi seasoning sauce. THAT made it really yum. If you can't find Maggi at the grocery, you can get it on amazon. It's great for savory meat dishes like this! I used a whole can of tomato paste. Also, I served it over egg noodles- which was also really good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Memphis, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2011
Everyone at the party loved it. I doubled the meat and spices, increased tomato paste to whole 6oz can, added 1 Tb Worcestershire sauce, 2 bay leaves, 1 can beef broth, 2 TB of brown sugar and used whole can of stout beer. I also made it the day before. I had to share the recipe others since they enjoyed it so much!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2011
It was so bitter, not even edible. Used the guiness beer extra stout.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2011
We just ate this for St. Patrick's Day. It was fine but nothing special. If you are just looking for a stew our family prefers the spicy curry beef stew from this site.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 195) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken Breast Recipes
Chicken Breast Recipes

With our 2,700+ chicken breast recipes, you'll never serve the same old chicken again.

Zucchini On The Grill
Zucchini On The Grill

The firm, juicy texture of zucchini make them a perfect side to toss on the grill.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Irish Stew

This simple lamb stew is too good to eat just once a year.

Chef John's Irish Pork Stew

Now here’s what we should be eating for St. Patrick’s Day!

Irish Stew

This classic stew is hearty, easy, and delicious.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States